Children, Youth, and Families

• E-Books: Children, Youth and Families: The US National Academies Press makes available its entire publication archive free to read online or download. More than 250 books are currently available.
• Youth: International, peer-reviewed and open-access journal on education, sociology, economics, and other social perspectives of youth and young adulthood. 

• Center for the Developing Child - Harvard University: The Center publishes and links to research on early brain development, learning, and behavior, and the application of that knowledge to policies and practices.
• Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning (CSEFEL): Promoting the social emotional development and school readiness of young children birth to age 5. 
• Child Care and Early Education Research Connections: Promotes research and resources in child care and early childhood education. Information offered on the site is for teachers, students, researchers, parents, and policy makers.
• Early Child Development Home Page: Lists international sites, US resources, country-specific sites, online journals. 
• National Association for the Education of Young Children: Links to resources for parents, resources for early childhood professionals, the last ten years of their magazine Young Children, information about accreditation, the organization, its conferences, its publications, its activities and membership.
• Society for Research in Child Development: Information about the society and its publications in the web. Publications include their Newsletter and monographs, Child Development, and Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography.

Federal Data

• U.S. Census: Families and Living Arrangements: The Census Bureau collects data about American families for the nation, states and communities.
• Youth in Transition Database: Collection of data obtained by a survey of a pre-determined sample of youth and young adults who have experienced foster care at ages 17, 19 and 21.
• Child Welfare Outcomes: Child Welfare Outcomes, an annual report to Congress published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, provides information on state performance in seven categories of outcomes that are widely accepted performance objectives for child welfare practice.
• Monitoring the Future: This survey is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total of approximately 50,000 8th, 10th, and 12th graders are surveyed. 
• The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH): NSDUH provides national and state-level data on the use of tobacco, alcohol, illicit drugs (including non-medical use of prescription drugs), and mental health in the United States. 
• National Survey on Children’s Health: This survey provides rich data on multiple, intersecting aspects of adolescents’ lives—including physical and mental health, access to quality health care, and the adolescent’s family, neighborhood, school, and social context. 
• The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS): This survey monitors six types of health risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults.
• Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS): The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the world’s largest, ongoing telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984. 
• Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics: The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (the Forum) is a working group of federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families. 

Other Data

• National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect: The NDACAN facilitates the secondary analysis of research data relevant to the study of child abuse and neglect.
• Future of Families and Child Wellbeing Study: Following a cohort of nearly 5,000 children born in large U.S. cities between 1998 and 2000. Previously known as the Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study.
• National Survey of America's Families: The National Survey of America's Families (NSAF) is part of The Urban Institute's Assessing the New Federalism (ANF) multi-year research project to study federal policy changes decentralizing many social programs from the federal government to the states.
• Kids Count Data Center: A national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States.
• Child Welfare Information Gateway: Includes information about: child abuse and neglect, supporting and preserving families, out-of-home care, excerpts from federal and state laws, training and diagnostic resources, statistical data, and research abstracts.