Books & Articles
The B Corp Handbook, Second Edition by
"This book shows how using business as a force for good, not just pursuing short-term profits, can be better for consumers, employees, local communities, the environment, and your company's long-term bottom line." --Tony Hsieh, New York Times bestselling author of Delivering Happiness and CEO, Zappos.com, Inc. B Corps are a global movement of more than 2,700 companies in 60 countries--like Patagonia, Ben & Jerry's, Kickstarter, Danone North America, and Eileen Fisher--that are using the power of business as a force for good. B Corps have been certified to have met rigorous standards of social and environmental performance, accountability, and transparency. This book is the authoritative guide to the what, why, and how of B Corp certification. Coauthors Ryan Honeyman and Dr. Tiffany Jana spoke with the leaders of over 200 B Corps from around the world to get their insights on becoming a Certified B Corp, improving their social and environmental performance, and building a more inclusive economy. The second edition has been completely revised and updated to include a much stronger focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI). These changes are important because DEI can no longer be a side conversation--it must be a core value for any company that aspires to make money and make a difference. While this book is framed around the B Corp movement, any company, regardless of size, industry, or location, can use the tools contained here to learn how to build a better business. As the authors vividly demonstrate, using business as a force for good can help you attract and retain the best talent, distinguish your company in a crowded market, and increase trust in your brand.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
Better Business: How the B Corp Movement is Remaking Capitalism by
Tells the story of the rise of a new corporate form—the B Corporation. Founded by a group of friends who met at Stanford, these companies undergo a rigorous certification process, overseen by the B Lab, and commit to putting social benefits, the rights of workers, community impact, and environmental stewardship on equal footing with financial shareholders. Driven by B Lab, 34 U.S. states have passed benefit corporation legislation and more than 5,000 U.S. companies have incorporated using the benefit corporation form. Internationally, benefit corporation legislation has either passed or is in process in Argentina, Australia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, and Italy. This book explores how and why the change led by B Lab is working, why it is crucial to the well-being of every person on the planet, and what its future prospects are
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Businesses with a Difference: Balancing the Social and the Economic by
Market-based social economy firms such as social enterprises, social purpose businesses, co-operatives, credit unions, and community economic development corporations aim to meet distinct social needs while making money. Do these types of businesses have the potential for growth in the modern economy? Are they destined to function only in areas where conventional firms cannot achieve a sufficient rate of return? Or will the role of social economy organizations change as businesses begin placing more emphasis on corporate social responsibility? Building on the popular 2010 collection Researching the Social Economy, Businesses with a Difference explores the challenges and opportunities faced by firms that seek a genuine balance between their social and economic objectives. Through international case studies, including comparative analyses, this innovative collection highlights the unique issues that must be addressed when associations are accountable not to investors and shareholders, but instead to ordinary people.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Entrepreneurship and Economic Development : the Global Scope of Business Creation by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2022
Impact Investing and Social Enterprises by
This guide focuses on key issues in impact investing, including legal structure, measurement and reporting, forming an impact investment fund, and doing the deal. It also examines regional and country coverage using the comparative approach and drawing on the expertise of local experts across multiple jurisdictions.
Location: Law Library HG4515.13 .I475 2022Publication Date: 2023
Scaling the social enterprise : lessons learned from founders of social startups by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2021
Social Entrepreneurship and Enterprises in Economic and Social Development by
Explains how and why it's important to integrate social entrepreneurship and social enterprises with social and economic development.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2021
For relevant articles, consult the databases listed below. Articles can also be found by searching BU Libraries Search; after entering search terms, limit results by Material Type to articles.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- CB Insights This link opens in a new window
CB Insights tracks global venture capital, angel investment, private equity, M&A, and IPO activity related to private companies. It also offers API and data feeds solutions.
Access to CB Insights requires that you create an individual account using your BU email address. Off-campus access requires using the VPN.
Organizations
- Center for the Advancement of Social Entrepreneurship“A research and education center based at Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business, the Center for the Advancement of Social Entrepreneurship (CASE) promotes the entrepreneurial pursuit of social impact through the thoughtful adaptation of business expertise.”
- Kauffman Center for Entrepreneurial LeadershipThe largest foundation devoted to entrepreneurship. Search for “social entrepreneurship” for resources in this area.
- Schwab Foundation for Social EntrepreneurshipAn international, not-for-profit, independent and neutral organization, founded in 1998, with the purpose to advance social entrepreneurship and to foster social entrepreneurs as an important catalyst for societal innovation and progress. The Foundation has supported the world’s leading social entrepreneurs in their efforts to create a more just, equitable, and sustainable world.
- Society for NonprofitsBrings together those who serve in the nonprofit world in order to build a strong network of professionals throughout the country; provides a forum for the exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas on strengthening and increasing productivity within nonprofit organizations and among their leaders. Mission is accomplished through the publication of Nonprofit World magazine, educational programs offered by the Learning Institute, and other communications with its members.
- Skoll Center for Social EntrepreneurshipAn internationally renowned social impact centre, at Saïd Business School, Oxford University. The goal is to maximise the impact of social entrepreneurship to transform unjust or unsatisfactory systems or practices around the world and address critical social and environmental challenges.
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Dorice Moylan
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Pardee Library
dmoylan@bu.edu
Room 318F
Pardee Library
dmoylan@bu.edu
Room 318F
Pardee Library
617-353-4310
Subjects: Business & Management