Industry Reports
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of Industry reports organized by NAICS code. Reports include competitive landscape, supply chain, statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry. Includes U.S. Specialized Industry Reports and Global Industry Reports.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
NetAdvantage (S&P Global) provides web based access to S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Company Profiles, Stock Reports and Sub-Industry Reviews. Each S&P Industry Survey includes current trends, how the industry operates, downloadable company data and links to industry trade associations.
- Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
(2018-present) International coverage of 22 industries and 35 commodities. Industry reports include: industry forecast, SWOT analysis, risk/reward indices, industry trends and top competitors. In-depth reports are released quarterly.
For reports from before 2018, see Business Monitor International.
The following database contains older (pre-2021) industry reports:
- MarketLine Industry Profiles This link opens in a new windowNote: most profiles are from 2002 to 2012, but there are some current reports. MarketLine (Formerly Datamonitor) Industry Profiles provide profiles on industries worldwide and are available through the Business Source Complete database. Each industry profile includes a market overview, market share, market size, leading companies in the industry and market forecasts. To locate an industry survey, type the industry name in the search box, select title from the drop-down menu and click on the Search button.
The following databases contain reports in the technology, biotech and healthcare industries:
- Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Frost & Sullivan reports cover technology and market trends in various technology, energy and manufacturing related fields. In-depth market research and strategy reports with an international scope. Includes the following industry sectors: healthcare; communication technologies; industrial automation and electronics; energy and power systems; aerospace and defense; environmental and building technologies. These reports can only be viewed in html format.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new window
Gartner, Inc. is a well-known information technology research and advisory company that provides insights to help clients make informed decisions related to information technology. Reports contain research findings and advice on technology markets, topics, and industries. Follow instructions at the BU IS&T site to register for an account to gain access.
SIC/NAICS Codes - Industry Classification
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
In-depth company information and financials for international public companies. Allows you to export financials into Excel and create company comparisons using ratios and other financial metrics. Good source for annual reports and company 10K’s. Provides access to research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms. Click on the Investext tab to access the analyst reports.
Help in searching for SIC/NAICS codes:
- Census DataAccess data about the nation's people and economy including demographic data and the Economic Census.
- U.S. Census NAICS-SIC Concordance TablesFind your NAICS code, and you will find the corresponding SIC code. Click on Concordances located under Reference Files.
- North American Industry Classification Search (NAICS)Search by keyword to find the NAICS code for the industry you are researching. Includes 2022, 2017 and 2012 NAICS codes.
- Standard Industrial Classification Manual (SIC) SearchSearch by keyword to find the SIC code for the industry you are researching.
Consulting Firms
Consulting firms provide insights into niche or fast-growing industries that may not be included in some larger industry report databases. Below is a list of some more well-known firms, though this is not an exhaustive list. Please be aware some of these reports maybe behind a paywall.
Reference & Instruction Librarian
dmoylan@bu.edu
Room 318F
Pardee Library