Canadian Studies

Publication produced by the Institut nordique du Québec (INQ), a group of Quebec experts in the field of northern and Arctic research. The collection First Peoples of the North includes Indigenous language dictionaries, information from StatsCan, scholarship, and more.

The First Nations Digital Document Source (FNDDS) is a collection of electronic documents used primarily for research in land claims and First Nations issues. Documents include court decisions, legislation, treaties, claims policies, privy council orders, research guides, and instructional resources related to land claims and Aboriginal title, particularly in the Canadian context.

This collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and Indigenous peoples in these areas.

Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from early European colonization up to photographs and Indigenous newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.

The Indigenous Cultures collection is composed of over 16,000 archaeological and historical objects covering nearly 12,000 years of history; over 6,000 are available in the online collection.

An open-access online book from the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre (SRSC), which hold letter books of two principals of the Shingwauk Residential School (Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario) dating from 1875-1904 and include a wealth of information about the early history of Shingwauk and Wawanosh.

The Two-Spirit Archives at the University of Winnipeg makes Two-Spirit people visible in our documentary heritage. It is guided in its development by the Two-Spirit Archives Advisory Council, which ensures Two-Spirit people are central to preserving the history of their contributions to society and in strengthening their community. Currently includes a small digital collection, and links to other projects including the Two-Spirited People of Manitoba Oral History project.