Art & Literature Primary Source Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive digital collection that aims to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories; much material was unpublished.
- North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new windowIncludes plays by American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the 20th century, information about the plays and their production, and biographical data. Also includes issues of the Native Playwrights' Newsletter.
Digital Collections
- Ad*AccessOver 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
- Archives CanadaArchives Canada is a gateway to over 800 repositories across Canada.
- Archives de MontrealArchives de Montréal is the site of the Historical Archives of the City of Montreal . It seeks to reach all Montreal citizens.
- CanadianaDigitized heritage content about Canadian history.
- Early Canadiana OnlineThis virtual library holds the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines and government documents. This includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first half of the 20th century. Our content spans 21 languages, including French, English, Latin, Greek, and many First Nations languages.
- Indigenous Studies Portal, University of SaskatchewanThe I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal was launched in 2006 at the University of Saskatchewan as a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world.
- THE INTERNATIONAL CENTER FOR HAITIAN, CARIBBEAN AND AFRO-CANADIAN DOCUMENTATION AND INFORMATIONThe CIDIHCA, located in Montreal, fulfills the vocation of a documentation center by offering documentation on Haiti, the Caribbean diasporas and African-Canadian communities to as wide an audience as possible.
- Library and Archives CanadaLibrary and Archives Canada (LAC) helps Canadians gain a better understanding of who they are. It serves as the continuing memory of the federal government and its institutions and as the guardian of Canada’s distant past and recent history.
- Canadiana Monograph CollectionCollection of digitized resources from the University of Alberta including publications dating back to the early 17th century that are about Canada, or written and published by Canadians, scanned from microfiche.
