Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Handbooks & other print sources
The Cambridge Companion to Narrative by
The Cambridge Companion to Narrative provides a unique and valuable overview of current approaches to narrative study. An international team of experts explores ideas of storytelling and methods of narrative analysis as they have emerged across diverse traditions of inquiry and in connection with a variety of media, from film and television, to storytelling in the 'real-life' contexts of face-to-face interaction, to literary fiction. Each chapter presents a survey of scholarly approaches to topics such as character, dialogue, genre or language, shows how those approaches can be brought to bear on a relatively well-known illustrative example, and indicates directions for further research. Featuring a chapter reviewing definitions of narrative, a glossary of key terms and a comprehensive index, this is an essential resource for both students and scholars in many fields, including language and literature, composition and rhetoric, creative writing, jurisprudence, communication and media studies, and the social sciences.
Location: Available OnlineISBN: 1139001531Publication Date: 2007-09-28
Routledge Handbook of Counter-Narratives by
Routledge Handbook of Counter-Narratives is a landmark volume providing students, university lecturers, and practitioners with a comprehensive and structured guide to the major topics and trends of research on counter-narratives. The concept of counter-narratives covers resistance and opposition as told and framed by individuals and social groups. Counter-narratives are stories impacting on social settings that stand opposed to (perceived) dominant and powerful master-narratives. In sum, the contributions in this handbook survey how counter-narratives unfold power to shape and change various fields. Fields investigated in this handbook are organizations and professional settings, issues of education, struggles and concepts of identity and belonging, the political field, as well as literature and ideology. The handbook is framed by a comprehensive introduction as well as a summarizing chapter providing an outlook on future research avenues. Its direct and clear appeal will support university learning and prompt both students and researchers to further investigate the arena of narrative research.　
ISBN: 9781000198812Publication Date: 2020-10-22
Battleground: Immigration [2 Volumes] by
Among the most tumultuous conflicts of modern America is the war over legal and undocumented immigrants currently residing within U.S. borders. Since the passing of the 1965 Immigration and Naturalization Act, America has witnessed an unprecedented flow of immigrants onto its shores, with increased diversity of race and culture. Battleground: Immigration examines the most critical issues surrounding immigration today, including effects on the economy, education, and employment, as well as the viability of the foreign-born in American society. All sides of the immigration debate are explored in this comprehensive 2-volume set, with special weight given to the very specific issues that have arisen in post-9/11 America: homeland security and border control, 9/11's impact on legislation and civil liberties; the Department of Homeland security and its role in border control; transnational organized crime, human smuggling and trafficking; and post 9/11 border control and security impact on immigration. With direct ties to the curriculum, this set is a valuable resource for students of sociology, current events, American history, political science, ethnic studies, and public policy.
Location: Available at Mugar Reference X ; JV6465 .B38 2009ISBN: 9780313344138Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by
The set covers the full breadth of American immigration history in 525 alphabetically arranged and easy-to-understand articles. Designed for and written to be understood by high school students and college undergraduates, ""Encyclopedia of American Immigration"" offers a clear and innovative approach to immigration history that can also be used by advanced students and scholars. The goal of the set is to address all questions about immigration that students might reasonably be expected to ask: Where immigrants have come from and why; how they have adapted to their new homeland; how they have contributed to American culture and society; how government policies toward them have changed; practical issues of legal and social integration; and how American immigration history has fit into worldwide migration patterns. One-third of the essays are overviews covering broad issues ranging from accent discrimination to AIDS, world migration patterns, and xenophobia. The next large category of essays might be considered the set's core: 70 articles on specific ethnic and national immigrant groups. Each of these essays outlines its group's immigration history, emphasizing what has made each group unique. Other important essays cover events, laws and treaties, organizations and institutions, and Supreme Court rulings on immigration. In addition, every state in the union has its own essay, averaging nearly 1,000 words in length, along with a table summarizing demographic data. Ten cities with particularly large immigrant populations are also subjects of essays. Lastly, the set has articles on 45 individual persons, most of whom were post-independence-era immigrants who had a significant impact on the United States. These range from U.S. secretary of state Madeleine Albright, who came from Czechoslovakia, and the Dominican-born writer Julia Alvarez to Arnold Schwarzenegger, the Austrian bodybuilder and actor who became governor of California. All these essays focus on the experiences of their subjects as immigrants. ""Encyclopedia of American Immigration"" is organized and formatted to be student friendly. Essays are arranged alphabetically under the headwords students are most likely to seek, and finding aids are offered in the form of textual cross-references (e.g., ""McCarran-Walter Act. See Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952""), ""See also"" cross-references at the end of each essay, a category list in volume 3, and a complete list of contents in every volume.
Location: Available at Mugar Reference X ; JV6465 .E53 2010ISBN: 9781587655999Publication Date: 2010-04-30
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowPublished by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
- Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Covers ancient history to current events using primary sources, reference information, and multi-media content.
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Cambridge Companions present collections of essays written by leading experts in the field on themes, subjects, and key figures in three broad areas: Literature and Classics; Philosophy, Religion, and Culture; and Music.
