Resources on Literary Translation
See the Translation Studies guide
for resources on literary translation
Background Sources
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowPublished by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Online version of Encyclopædia Britannica along Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and other reference sources.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Browse or search Cambridge Companions to LiteratureCambridge Companions provide essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by Location: Mugar Reference X ; PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 and OnlinePublication Date: 2004The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
The Columbia Guide to the Latin American Novel Since 1945 by Location: Mugar Stacks PQ7082.N7 W546 2007 and OnlinePublication Date: 2007In this expertly crafted, richly detailed guide, Raymond Leslie Williams explores the cultural, political, and historical events that have shaped the Latin American and Caribbean novel since the end of World War II.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureLocation: Mugar Reference X F1406 .E53 2008Publication Date: 2008The original 1995 encyclopedia was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more.
Routledge Handbook of Modern Japanese Literature by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016The Routledge Handbook of Modern Japanese Literature provides a comprehensive overview of how we study Japanese literature today. Rather than taking a purely chronological approach to the content, the chapters survey the state of the field through a number of pressing issues and themes, examining the ways in which it is possible to read modern Japanese literature and situate it in relation to critical theory.
The Columbia Companion to Modern East Asian Literature by Location: Available at Mugar Reference X PL493 .C55 2003 and OnlinePublication Date: 2003This extraordinary one-volume guide to the modern literatures of China, Japan, and Korea is the definitive reference work on the subject in the English language. With more than one hundred articles that show how a host of authors and literary movements have contributed to the general literary development of their respective countries, this companion is an essential starting point for the study of East Asian literatures.
Literary Biography
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of notable figures from British history who have shaped the culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Does not include living people or those recently deceased. Limited to one (1) concurrent user.
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new windowA bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
