Occupational Therapy PP-OTD

This page offers some tips for setting up an optimal search strategy in journal databases, including CINAHL, APA PsycInfo, and PubMed.

What is controlled vocabulary?

• Most databases have what is called "controlled vocabulary."
• "Controlled vocabulary" refers to the standard words and phrases that indexers of the database use to describe populations, conditions, interventions, and more.
• Using controlled vocabulary can help you zero in on the information that you need more quickly.

Where to find controlled vocabulary:

• Look up PubMed's controlled vocabulary in the MeSH database.
• Search for CINAHL's controlled vocabulary by using their subject headings database.
• Search APA PsycInfo's subject database to find controlled vocabulary.

Controlled vocabulary example in a database:

Here are MeSH terms for an article on social communication skills among children with Autism. Using these MeSH terms will help you find similar articles.

Boolean terms are words include AND, OR, and NOT.

• Typing in Autism OR Autistic Disorder into the database will find articles on either or both Autism or Autistic disorder.
• Autism AND social skills will pull articles that mention both Autism and social skills.
• "Autism" NOT "developmental disorder*" will eliminate articles about :developmental disorders.

Truncation is also known as wild card searching. It allows you to search for different variations of a word. In most databases, you can truncate a keyword by adding the asterisk symbol* at the end of the root of a keyword. Here are some examples:

• adolescen* searches the database for adolescents, adolescent, or adolescence
• female* searches for the keywords female (singular) or females (plural)