Skip to Main Content
Exhibit Sources: Film
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
Swank This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
Browse Films & Television Programs
Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho (streaming, Swank)
Disgruntled Phoenix office worker Marion Crane is fed up with the way life has treated her. When Marion is trusted to bank $40,000 by her employer, she decides to take the money and leave town. When a tired Marion is caught in a storm, she pulls off the main highway and checks into the Bates Motel. The manager of Bates Motel is a quiet young man named Norman Bates, who seems to be dominated by his mother.
The Love Witch (streaming, Kanopy)
In this cult favorite, modern-day witch Elaine (Samantha Robinson) uses spells and magic to get men to fall in love with her. A stylish tribute to 1960s technicolor horror, THE LOVE WITCH utilizes camp and pastiche to depict a feminist revision of the classics of a bygone era.
Nightmares in red, white & blue (streaming, Kanopy)
Nightmares in red, white and blue is a comprehensive history of the American horror film. Starting with Thomas Edison's version of Frankenstein and slashing its way through to Saw and beyond, this incisive documentary examines how these monstrous creations were gruesome reflections of their time.
Bonnie and Clyde (Special 40th Anniversary Edition) (dvd)
Digitally remastered version of the ground-breaking American film. Bonnie and Clyde chronicles the exploits of notorious Depression-era outlaws and lovers Clyde Barrow (Warren Beatty) and Bonnie Parker (Faye Dunaway)
Natural Born Killers (Ultimate Oliver Stone Collection) (dvd)
Quentin Tarantino provided the story that sets Woody Harrelson and Juliette Lewis as a deranged couple intently killing their way across the American landscape.
Silence of the Lambs: Collector's Edition (dvd)
Two-disc edition of Jonathan Demme's harrowing cinematic thriller featuring Jodie Foster as an FBI trainee who engages in a mental duel with jailed serial killer Hannibal "the Cannibal" Lecter (the understatedly sinister Anthony Hopkins) to gain information needed to track down another murderer.
Taxi driver ; Widescreen collector's ed..(dvd)
A mentally unstable Viet Nam war veteran who works as a night-time taxi driver in New York City is driven to obsession when he attempts to save a 12-year old prostitute, embarking on a violent shooting rampage against a world of filth and corruption.
Pulp Fiction (Collector's Edition) (dvd)
Quentin Tarantino's low-life tale is a trip through the Los Angeles criminal underworld. John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson star as two hitmen, with Uma Thurman as their boss' dangerously alluring wife.
The Godfather (dvd)
Coppola's classic adaptation of the Mario Puzo novel about a fictional Mafia Family's growth and changing guard in the late 1940's.
The Godfather. Part II (streaming, Swank)
The continuing saga of the Corleone crime family which tells the story of a young Vito Corleone growing up in Sicily and in 1910s New York; and follows Michael Corleone in the 1950s as he attempts to expand the family business into Las Vegas, Hollywood and Cuba.
The Godfather, Part III (dvd)
In this third film in the epic Corleone trilogy, directed by Francis Ford Coppola, Al Pacino reprises the role of powerful family leader Michael Corleone. Now in his 60s, Michael is dominated by two passions: freeing his family from crime and finding a suitable successor.
Title Twilight Zone: The Movie (Remastered) (dvd)
Directors John Landis, Steven Spielberg, Joe Dante, and George Miller offer four stories based on Rod Serling's classic fantasy TV series. Outspoken bigot Vic Morrow experiences the horrors of prejudice and hate first-hand; nursing home resident Scatman Crothers helps his fellow seniors discover a magical key to becoming young again; Kathleen Quinlan enters a town controlled by a young boy whose thoughts can change reality; and airline passenger John Lithgow can't convince anyone that a gremlin on the wing is trying to destroy the craft.
The Twilight Zone: The Definitive Edition: Season 1 (dvd)
This 6-disc set of Rod Serling's fantasy series, which debuted in 1959 on CBS, covers all 36 episodes of the first season.
Exhibit Sources: Images
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
The Museum of Bad Art (MOBA)
The Museum Of Bad Art (MOBA) is the world's only museum dedicated to the collection, exhibition, and celebration of bad art in all its forms.
Anthropology/Sociology & interim Philosophy Librarian
