Related Guides
Background Sources
- ´Ethical criticism of art," in Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Traditionally, there were two opposing philosophical positions taken with respect to the legitimacy of the ethical evaluation of art: ‘moralism’ and ‘autonomism’, where moralism is the view that the aesthetic value of art should be determined by, or reduced to, its moral value, while autonomism holds that it is inappropriate to apply moral categories to art; they should be evaluated by ‘aesthetic’ standards alone.
- "Hume's Aesthetics," in Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy David Hume’s views on aesthetic theory and the philosophy of art are to be found in his work on moral theory and in several essays. Although there is a tendency to emphasize the two essays devoted to art, “Of the Standard of Taste” and “Of Tragedy,” his views on art and aesthetic judgment are intimately connected to his moral philosophy and theories of human thought and emotion.
- "The Pleasures of Tragedy." In The Oxford Handbook of British Philosophy in the Eighteenth Century, There is a resurgence of Aristotelian concerns in philosophical approaches to tragedy in the eighteenth century. The philosophical literature of the period is rife with proposed solutions to the problem of the delightfulness of imitations of undelightful things and to the more specific problem of tragic pleasure.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy The purpose of the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy. This link opens in a new window Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy publishes original, peer reviewed, research reviews covering the key issues and exploring major debates in philosophy.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window Grove Art Online is an encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and all aspects of visual culture. Articles include bibliographies and searchable images. As part of Oxford Art Online, keywords also are simultaneously searched in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- The Oxford Handbook of Aristotle This book explores the broad range of activity Aristotelian studies comprise today, including the primarily textual and philological to the application of broadly Aristotelian themes to contemporary problems irrespective of their narrow textual fidelity.
- A Companion to Hume Comprised of twenty-nine specially commissioned essays, A Companion to Hume examines the depth of the philosophies and influence of one of history's most remarkable thinkers.
- Historical Dictionary of Hume's Philosophy This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Hume's Philosophy contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 100 cross-referenced entries covering key terms, as well as brief discussions of Hume's major works and of some of his most important predecessors, contemporaries, and successors.
- Hume's Aesthetic Theory : Taste and Sentiment Hume's Aesthetic Theory examines the neglected area of the development of aesthetics in empiricist thinking, exploring the link between the empiricist background of aesthetics in the eighteenth century and the work of David Hume. This is a major contribution to our understanding of Hume's general philosophy and provides fresh insights into the history of aesthetics.
- The Oxford Handbook of Hume This collection aims to provide a comprehensive set of analyses and assessments of the key components and aspects of Hume’s philosophical work. The contributions are drawn from among the leading figures of contemporary philosophy and Hume scholarship with a view to providing readers not only with an understanding of the core themes and features of Hume’s philosophy but also with a clear view of the central debates concerning the interpretation and assessment of Hume’s philosophy at the present time.
- A Companion to Sophocles A Companion to Sophocles presents the first comprehensive collection of essays in decades to address all aspects of the life, works, and critical reception of Sophocles.
- Brill's Companion to Sophocles Brill's Companion to Sophocles offers 32 chapters, newly commissioned and written by leading scholars, on Sophocles' life and works, as well as upon the basic historical, social, intellectual, moral, philosophical and religious issues of interest to Sophocles which remain central in the study of Greek tragedy to this day.
- The Cambridge companion to popular fiction This Companion covers the major developments in the history of popular fiction, with specially commissioned chapters on pulp fiction, bestsellers, and comics and graphic narratives.
- The Cambridge companion to gothic fiction Gothic as a form of fiction-making has played a major role in Western culture since the late eighteenth century. In this volume, fourteen world-class experts on the Gothic provide thorough and revealing accounts of this haunting-to-horrifying type of fiction from the 1760s (the decade of The Castle of Otranto, the first so-called 'Gothic story') to the end of the twentieth century (an era haunted by filmed and computerized Gothic simulations). Along the way, these essays explore the connections of Gothic fictions to political and industrial revolutions, the realistic novel, the theatre, Romantic and post-Romantic poetry, nationalism and racism from Europe to America, colonized and post-colonial populations, the rise of film and other visual technologies, the struggles between 'high' and 'popular' culture, changing psychological attitudes towards human identity, gender and sexuality, and the obscure lines between life and death, sanity and madness. The volume also includes a chronology and guides to further reading.
- The Cambridge Companion to American Gothic The Cambridge Companion to American Gothic offers an accessible overview to both the breadth and depth of the American Gothic tradition. This subgenre features works from many of America's best-known authors: Edgar Allan Poe, Toni Morrison, Stephen King, Anne Rice, Henry James, Edith Wharton, William Faulkner, and Flannery O'Connor. Authored by leading experts in the field, the introduction and sixteen chapters explore the American Gothic chronologically, in relation to different social groups, in connection with different geographic regions, and in different media, including children's literature, poetry, drama, film, television, and gaming. This Companion provides a rich and thorough analysis of the American Gothic tradition from a twenty-first-century standpoint.
- A Companion to American Gothic A Companion to American Gothic features a collection of original essays that explore America's gothic literary tradition. The largest collection of essays in the field of American Gothic Contributions from a wide variety of scholars from around the world The most complete coverage of theory, major authors, popular culture and non-print media available
- A New Companion to the Gothic Provides a series of stimulating insights into Gothic writing, its history and genealogy.
- The Cambridge companion to the modern gothic This Companion explores the many ways in which the Gothic has dispersed in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, and in particular how it has come to offer a focus for the tensions inherent in modernity. Fourteen essays by world-class experts show how the Gothic in numerous forms - including literature, film, television, and cyberspace - helps audiences both to distance themselves from and to deal with some of the key underlying problems of modern life.
- Historical Dictionary of Horror Cinema The Historical Dictionary of Horror Cinema traces the development of the genre from its beginnings to the present. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries.
- The encyclopedia of Japanese horror films The Encyclopedia of Japanese Horror Films covers virtually every horror film made in Japan from the past century to date.
- Revisiting Stephen King : A Critical Companion Discussions of character development, thematic concerns, and issues of style and symbolism follow concise plot synopses. An alternate critical perspective is offered for each work. King achievements and placement in the horror genre are reconsidered, especially in light of his more recent forays into suspense fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and other areas of writing.
