Related Guides
Exhibit Sources: Primary Sources
- Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History (AM Explorer) This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war.
- Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture: The History of Tourism (AM Explorer) This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.
- Medieval Travel Writing (AM Explorer) This collection presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia.
- The Grand Tour (AM Explorer) The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century: a phenomenon which shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the eighteenth century’s greatest artists, writers and thinkers. These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.
- Socialism on Film: Travel (AM Explorer) Socialism on Film is an impressive collection of documentaries, newsreels and features that reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers. It ranges from the early twentieth century to the 1980s and examines the themes of War & Revolution, News & Current Affairs plus Culture & Society. The whole spectrum of socialist life is here on film.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
- Paul Bowles, University of Delaware Library, Special Collections An online exhibition with text and images from the actual exhibition, which was on view in the Special Collections Exhibition Gallery at the Hugh M. Morris Library from August 22 - December 15, 2000. Paul Bowles, 1910-1999 features manuscripts and papers acquired by the University of Delaware Library from Bowles in 1999, shortly before his death. The exhibit supplements and enhances the Library's exhibition of a decade earlier, Paul Bowles at 80.
- Women's Travel Diaries, Duke University Libraries Digital Repository The diaries in this digital collection were written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe, including India, the West Indies, countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as around the United States. There are over 100 diaries of varying length, selected from several archival collections at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University.
- Gertrude Bell Archive Gertrude Margaret Lowthian Bell (1868-1926) travelled in Europe and also spent several months in Bucharest and in Tehran. Her travels continued with two round-the-world trips: one in 1897-1898 and one in 1902-1903.
- Isabella Bird, John Murrary Archive, National Library of Scotland Isabella Bird was one of the 19th century's most remarkable women travellers. Her intrepid global travels and her subsequent travel books made her famous at home and abroad.
- American Notes: Travels in America, 1750 to 1920, Library of Congress Comprises 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.
- Travelers in the Middle East Archive, Rice University The Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- British Travel Writing: Women's Travel Writing, 1780-1840, University of Wolverhampton Women’s Travel Writing, 1780–1840 ☰ Welcome to Women’s Travel Writing, 1780-1840: A Bio-Bibliographical Database, providing full records for all known books of travel published in Britain and Ireland by women between 1780 and 1840, supplemented by notes, short biographies of the travel writers and illustrators, and web links to online digital editions.
Exhibit Sources: Film
- The great Muslim American road trip (streaming, Academic Video Online) In this three-part travelogue, a young Muslim American couple discover America's Muslim roots on Route 66. From Chicago to St. Louis to Amarillo Texas, and across the Southwest, rap-star Mona Haydar and husband Sebastian Robins enjoy the iconic highway's well-known roadside attractions, and along the way discover its overlooked Muslim American story.
- Cooking in the Danger Zone series (streaming, Academic Video Online) Cooking in the Danger Zone is a documentary television series produced by the BBC and presented by Stefan Gates. In each film food writer Gates explores unusual food stories in some of the world’s more dangerous places. He uses food to explore and understand people’s culture and the challenges they face.
- Expedition with Steve Backshall (streaming, Academic Video Online) Head into the unknown with explorer Steve Backshall as he journeys to the world's last unexplored places and faces challenges around the globe, encountering extraordinary wildlife and meeting remarkable people along the way.
- Explore Parts Unknown CNN has relaunched Anthony Bourdain's Explore Parts Unknown digital project. There are film clips.
- Playland USA (streaming, Academic Video Online) A poetic time travel fantasy through the imagined history of the United States as a modern fairyland, along the traces of our desire for illusion and escapism – fatally bound between fact and fiction, anticipating the current reality shifts in the US. PLAYLAND USA questions the possibilities and limits of the representation of history and is a self-reflection regarding film as a medium.
- Where the Wild Men Are, with Ben Fogle [series} (streaming, Academic Video Online) Explorer Ben Fogle meets more people who've turned their back on the rat-race and set up home in some of the most remote and inhospitable parts of the world.
- The Travel Film Archive (YouTube) Travel back in time and around the world with The Travel Film Archive. The Travel Film Archive is a collection of travelogues and educational and industrial films -- many of them in color - that show the world the way it was between 1900 and 1970. Our holdings include archives of the renowned travel filmmakers Burton Holmes, Andre de la Varre, and James A. FitzPatrick, as well as footage shot by many other itinerant cameramen.
- Stop filming us (streaming, Kanopy) Dutch filmmaker Joris Postema explores the city of Goma in the Democratic Republic of the Congo accompanied by three local artists: journalist Ley Uwera, Mugabo Baritegera, and filmmaker Bernadette Vivuya. As he documents the work of these artists, he is confronted by the questions of whether a Western filmmaker can capture the complex truth of the African country, or if he is continuing a neocolonial tradition.
- America Outdoors with Baratunde Thurston (streaming, Academic Video Online) America Outdoors with Baratunde Thurston follows the The New York Times bestselling author podcaster, and outdoor enthusiast on his journey to explore the country's diverse landscapes and discover how they shape our outdoor lives.
Fantasy
- Gulliver's travels : in technicolor (dvd) Animated adaptation of a chapter of Swift's story of Gulliver, an ordinary sailor who washes ashore on the island of Lilliput where the people are small enough to fit in the palm of his hand. There he tries to prevent war between Lilliput and a rival island.
- The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (dvd) Director Peter Jackson returns to Middle Earth for the first of his three-part adaptation of J.R.R. Tolkien's 1937 novel. Sixty years before "The Lord of the Rings," Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman) is recruited by the wizard Gandalf (Ian McKellen) to join a band of dwarves led by Thorin Oakenshield (Richard Armitage) on a quest to reclaim their kingdom, leading the young hobbit to the acquisition of a "precious" magical relic
- The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (dvd) Bilbo and Company are forced to engage in a war against an array of combatants and keep the Lonely Mountain from falling into the hands of a rising darkness.
- Title The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug (dvd) The journey continues in director Peter Jackson's exciting sequel based on J.R.R. Tolkien's classic tale. As Gandalf investigates an evil force growing in Middle Earth, Bilbo and his dwarven companions make their way to the LonelyMountain. Pursued by orcs, they encounter giant spiders, the elves ofMirkwood, and the dreaded dragon Smaug.
- The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring 9dvd) This is the first film in Peter Jackson's trilogy based on J.R.R. Tolkien's popular fantasy books. Jackson and company visualized Tolkien's imaginative world, in which a noble little Hobbit becomes the unlikely leader of a mission to take a dangerously powerful ring to the only place it can be destroyed.
- The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (dvd) The second installment in Peter Jackson's LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy picks up immediately where the first film left off - it follows the hobbit Frodo Baggins and the rest of the Fellowship across Middle Earth on their separate quests to destroy the evil Sauron and the cursed ring.
- The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (dvd) Peter Jackson's epic trilogy based on the writings of J.R.R. Tolkien ends with the final battle for Middle-Earth. Frodo and Sam, led by Gollum, continue their dangerous mission toward the fires of Mount Doom in order to destroy the One Ring; Aragorn struggles to fulfill his legacy as he leads his outnumbered followers against the growing power of the Dark Lord Sauron, so that the Ring-bearer may complete his quest.
- Lord of the Rings (Special Extended DVD Edition) Trilogy This New Line Platinum Series is the special extended DVD release of all three films in Peter Jackson's trilogy.
Exhibit Sources: Podcasts
- Far From Home Podcast Far From Home is an immersive travel and culture podcast where Peabody award-winning journalist Scott Gurian reports fascinating stories from his journeys to faraway places like Iran, Chernobyl, and Mongolia.
- Airplane Mode Airplane Mode is the podcast from Away that explores the reasons we travel and places we find ourselves.
- How Not to Travel Podcast The How Not To Travel podcast sheds new light on travel. Instead of talking about Instagram-friendly hotels and the latest trendy destinations, Kiona goes where few other travel bloggers and podcasters dare to go. She asks real questions about travel like: Is it possible to travel 100% sustainably? Who gets to be called a local? Are some countries really safer than others? and more.
- Travel Writing World Join Travel Writing World host Jeremy Bassetti as he talks with the world’s most celebrated travel writers about their work and about the business and craft of travel writing in this award-winning podcast.
- Centre for Travel Writing Studies Podcast The Centre for Travel Writing Studies is pleased to announce the debut episode of our podcast series. Click the episode below to listen. Upcoming episodes of this podcast will feature travel writers as well as members of the Centre for Travel Writing Studies discussing their work and trends within this genre.
- Amateur Traveler Podcast The Amateur Traveler audio podcast is about travel destinations. It helps you decide where to go next. So the show is intended for travelers. We create the show targeting a North American traveler who only has 1-2 weeks of vacation, although it gets listened to by people in other countries as well.
- World Nomads Travel Podcast The World Nomads Travel Podcast has suspended its regular destination episodes, and in their place, sharing the thoughts of travelers who are shaping the future of the industry post-COVID 19. We tap into their vast bank of knowledge to discover what can be learned from the past as we plan a new way of traveling moving forward.
- Extra Pack of Peanuts Traveling on a tight budget.
- Adventure Rider Radio: ARR RAW! A monthly panel style podcast focused on motorcycle travel and touring, a discussion between experienced travellers.
- Globetrotter Lounge I'm Lisette Austin, travel podcaster. Listen to the Globetrotter Lounge podcast, where I talk with diverse women who have found creative ways to travel more.
- Rick Steves Europe Tune in to the weekly episode of Rick's public-radio show, listen to past episodes, or download our Audio Europe app for a free library of radio interviews and walking tours.
Exhibit Sources: Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for date coverage and to search that publication separately.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 (London) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1785 - 1985. An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Times (London) to 1985. Full page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text. NOTE: For 1985+ use Nexis Uni.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Fully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries. Date coverage: 1690 -1876.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Date coverage: 2008 to 2 months ago.
- Boston Globe (1872-1988) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1872 - 1988. Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the newspaper The Boston Globe and its title variants. NOTE: For 1988+ use
- Boston Globe 1980+ This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1980 - present. Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). For earlier editions use Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text coverage of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.) Date coverage: 1977 - present.
Exhibit Sources: Images
- Travel Posters, Digital Commonwealth The Boston Public Library's Print Department is home to more than 350 vintage travel posters, most dating from the 1920s-1940s, the "Golden Age of Travel."
- Travel Poster Collection, Calisphere, Los Angeles Public Library Selected travel posters span the early 1920s to the 1960s and cover the "Golden Age of Travel”, when railways, airlines, and automobiles opened new and exciting possibilities to travel both locally and to destinations around the world. Travel posters commissioned during this period were created to entice would-be explorers to visit these destinations, and were common fixtures in travel agent offices, railway stations and airports. The collection showcases vibrant graphic design, including Art Deco and Futurist imagery,
- Pictorial Maps & Tourism, Digital Public Library of America Explore pictorial maps with a tourism focus. You might also search for Maps, tourist.
- From Colonialism to Tourism: Maps in American Culture, Digital Public Library of America This exhibit explores the cultural and historic impact of mapping through four specific moments in American history: migration along the Oregon Trail, the rise of the lumber industry, the Civil War, and the popularization of the automobile and individual tourism.
- Hong Kong Travel Posters, Hong Kong Baptist University Library Featuring more than 100 posters printed between 1930s and 1982, this collection shows diverse styles in promoting Hong Kong as a tourist destination by the Hong Kong Tourist Association.
- Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse Sets This page features items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Each set of content is based on a theme and is first featured on the Library's home page.
- Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Online Catalog The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
