Journal Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Date Coverage: 1809 (selectively) - present.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase.com is the database equivalent of EXCERPTA MEDICA. It is a comprehensive, international database covering Anesthesiology, Human Genetics, Gerontology, Drug Research, Pharmacology, Drug Side Effects and Interactions, Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), including Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology, Basic Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Biomedicine, Health Policy and Management, Pharmacoeconomics, Public and Occupational Health, Environmental Health, Pollution Control, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Nursing.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window Covers journal publications from the nursing and allied health professions. While it primarily covers journal citations, it also includes book chapter abstracts, dissertations, and conference abstracts. Date coverage: 1981 - present.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycInfo provides access to journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that cover the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. It includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Date coverage: 1894-
The Journal of Medical Internet Research
Founded in 1999, the Journal of Medical Internet Research is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal focusing on emerging technologies, medical devices, apps, engineering, telehealth and informatics applications for patient education, prevention, population health and clinical care. The Journal of Medical Internet Research regularly features articles on how health/medical researchers are using social media to understand health behavior.
Search Tips
The social media landscape changes daily, so the issues surrounding social media as a research tool are constantly evolving. So it is always a good idea to keep up with how health sciences researchers are using social media. Here are some recommended keywords and phrases to use when doing a literature search in our online databases.
PubMed Keywords
- "Social Media"[Mesh]) AND "Research Design"[Mesh]
- "social media analytics"[TIAB] AND "name of disease or condition"[TIAB]
- "social media analysis"[TIAB] AND "name of disease or condition"[TIAB]
CINAHL Keywords
social media AND content analysis AND name of disease or condition
Embase Keywords
'social media analysis' AND 'name of disease or condition'
APA PsycInfo Keywords
social media analytics
social media AND data mining
