Digital and microfilm newspapers
- From its first issue in 1965, the Bay State Banner has chronicled the biggest stories in Boston’s black community, from Civil Rights era protests to the decade of conflict around the city’s school desegregation efforts and court-ordered busing to the election of Barack Obama to the presidency.
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window Eyewitness accounts of historical events, ads and genealogical records published in popular 19th century newspapers including African-American publications.
Contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
- African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window The African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
The African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
