Tips for Finding Articles
Articles about this subject can be found in publications from a wide variety of disciplines. Use the databases on this page to get access to thousands of articles examining the subject from different perspectives or browse the key publications shown.
If the full text of an article is not available in a database, click on the 
icon to find other options for getting the article.
Article Databases
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
- Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
Africa-Wide Information searches across bibliographic databases from around the world to provide citations and abstracts on all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database This link opens in a new window Contains records of trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
Key Journals & eJournals
African journal of history and culture. by Publication Date: 2009 -
Afriques : débats, méthodes et terrains d'histoire. by ISBN: ISSN: 2108-6796Publication Date: 2010 -
International Journal of African Historical Studies by Location: DT1 .F68ISBN: 03617882Publication Date: 1972 -- Islamic Africa by ISBN: ISSN: 2333-262X
Transafrican journal of history. by Location: DT1 .F71ISBN: ISSN: 0251-0391Publication Date: 1971 volume: 1 issue: 1 until 1995 volume: 24
