Skip to Main Content
Exhibit Sources: News
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Date coverage: 2008 to 2 months ago.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Boston Globe 1980+ This link opens in a new window
Date coverage: 1980 - present. Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). For earlier editions use Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels . Date coverage: NBC video 1968 - present; CNN video 1995 - present.
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Exhibit Sources: Podcasts
Science is Gray Podcast
Science isn’t as black and white as the media often portrays it. Join former science teacher and vegan educator Sarina Farb for nuanced, honest, and holistic conversations exploring the gray areas of science and ethics in society.
Ethics in Action Podcast (UMass Boston)
Part of UMass Boston’s Philosophy Department, the Applied Ethics Center promotes research, teaching, and awareness of ethics in public life. In this podcast, Applied Ethics Center Director Nir Eisikovits hosts conversations on the intersection of ethics, politics, and technology.
Line of Sight Podcast ( Markkula Center for Applied Ethics, Santa Clara University)
Line of Sight presents a unique view of innovation by bringing technologists, entrepreneurs, and visionaries into provocative conversations with two of the world’s top thought leaders in the fields of social justice and ethics, Santa Clara University’s Thane Kreiner and Don Heider.
Exhibit Sources: Blogs & More
Economics and Ethics
Economics and Ethics is a group academic blog which we hope will allow us—and you, our readers and commenters—to: Showcase and discuss new work in ethics-and-economics by scholars around the world,
Discuss ways to include treatments of ethics in economics education,
Announce new projects and initiatives in ethics-and-economics, including calls for papers for books, journals, and conferences,
Highlight the often ignored or overlooked ethical aspects of economic arguments, whether in the world of academia or policy,
Bioethics Today Blog
The BioethicsToday website is currently maintained by the editorial staff of The American Journal of Bioethics. In service to anyone interested in bioethics, the website publishes information on the latest journal publications, events, job opportunities, and various resources. The site also includes original blog authorship by world-renowned bioethicists.
Hastings Bioethics Forum Blog
Hastings Bioethics Forum publishes commentaries from a range of perspectives on timely issues in bioethics.
1000-Word Philosophy: An Introductory Anthology
1000-Word Philosophy: An Introductory Anthology is a constantly-growing collection of original essays on important philosophical topics. These essays are introductions rather than argumentative articles. Each essay is as close to 1000 words (while never going over!) as the author can get it. A 1000-word essay takes between five and ten minutes to read. That’s about the length of a short bus ride or a waiting room stay, or the lead-up to a class meeting.
Media Ethics Case Studies (University of Texas at Austin, Center for Media Engagement)
What are case studies? Case studies are typically narrative accounts that involve characters (or parties) and at least one decision to be made that will significantly affect multiple parties. Typically, there are competing interests on each side of this decision—reasons for taking that action, and reasons against doing that action.
Exhibit Sources: Films
Ethan Hawke, Uma Thurman, Alan Arkin and Jude Law star in this science fiction thriller about an all-too-human man who dares to defy a system obsessed with genetic perfection. Hawke stars as Vincent, an "In-Valid", who assumes the identity of a member of the genetic elite to pursue his goal of traveling into space with the Gattaca Aerosphere Corporation. With a relentless investigator suspecting Vincent of a murder and with the colleague he has fallen in love with beginning to suspect his deception, Vincent's dreams steadily unravel
The Execution Protocol (streaming, Academic Video Online)
hot inside a state-of-the art maximum security prison in southeastern Missouri, the film delves into a world never before seen on film. All of Potosi Correctional Center's inmates face either death or are incarcerated for life without parole. No one leaves the prison, except in a hearse. Missouri has chosen lethal injection as the means of carrying out executions. In Potosi, executions are conducted in the prison hospital, using a lethal injection machine. The protocol is devised so that
Global Ethics (streaming, Academic Video Online)
This video suggests that there is no absolute or definitive statement on what constitutes ethical behavior and that an individual’s sense of ethics is determined by a number of social, cultural, and religious factors and influences. Viewers will hear how the role of ethics in management practices, global marketing, and corporate ethics and social responsibility differs from culture to culture.
Beef, Inc. (streaming, Academic Video Online)
A struggle for control of the world food market is waging, and the battle promises to escalate in the 21st century. This documentary by Carmen Garcia examines how a handful of companies have come to dominate beef production and distribution in North America. This film gives a voice to independent cattle producers who, unable to compete with the corporations, find themselves being squeezed out of the industry.
Food, Inc. (streaming, Kanopy)
Your steak and chicken may not taste quite the same after you digest all of the information found in this documentary about food production in the United States. Exposing not only the disturbing conditions under which livestock exist prior to their slaughter, the film examines the complex issues surrounding our health and the profits of corporations invested in supplying people with inexpensive (if not exactly nutritious) food.
From Flint: Voices of a Poisoned City (streaming, Academic Video Online)
From Flint goes beyond the news headlines to spotlight the impact of the devastating water contamination crisis on the people of Flint, Michigan. The film highlights the stories of residents who were personally injured, along with the work of local organizations and individuals that rallied to support them.
The Cider House Rules (DVD)
n '40s New England, young Tobey Maguire leaves the only home he's known, a Maine orphanage run by physician mentor Michael Caine (who won the Best Supporting Actor Oscar). Taking a job on the apple farm of a friend who's gone off to war, Maguire is drawn to the man's girlfriend (Charlize Theron) and befriends father/daughter migrant workers (Delroy Lindo and Erykah Badu) with a dark secret.
The Ethics of Fracking (streaming, Academic Video Online)
A look at the ethics of the natural gas extraction process known as “fracking”. The film covers political, spiritual, scientific, medical, and educational points of views of hydraulic fracturing.
60 Minutes: Suicide Tourists (Academic Video Online)
60 Minutes II took an extraordinary look at the process of assisted suicide in February, and told the story of an 81-year-old German man named Ernst Aschmoneit, who is dying of Parkinson's disease. Correspondent Lara Logan reports.
Frontline: The Suicide Tourist (DVD)
THE SUICIDE TOURIST is a portrait of Chicago native Craig Ewert's final days as he pursues a physician-assisted suicide in the one place where it's legal for foreigners to come to end their lives: Switzerland. With unique access to Dignitas, the Swiss nonprofit that has helped more than 1,000 people die since 1998, THE SUICIDE TOURIST follows Ewert as he debates the morality -- and confronts the reality -- of choosing to die before his disease, ALS (aka Lou Gehrig's Disease), further ravages his body, and he loses the option to die without unbearable suffering.
Erin Brockovich (DVD)
Julia Roberts earned a Best Actress Oscar playing the feisty, trashily clothed single mother of three who takes a job as her lawyer's secretary and finds herself investigating a utility company polluting the water of a small California town.
A Civil Action (DVD)
Knockout true-life courtroom drama starring John Travolta as accident lawyer Jan Schlictmann, who takes on the owners of a tannery he believes are responsible for the leukemia deaths of several children. Because the tannery is owned by a large corporation, the case threatens to bankrupt Travolta's law firm.
The Inside Job (DVD)
Did powerful bankers bet against the American people and win big? Think you have the cause-and-effect mysteries of the 2008 financial crisis nailed down? You may have your conclusions challenged by this eye-opening and opinionated documentary that explores the world of high finance with bracing clarity and shocking revelations, examining the complex evolution of bad mortgages into profitable investments
Margin Call (DVD)
Set in the high-stakes world of the financial industry, Margin Call is an entangling thriller involving the key players at an investment firm during one perilous 24-hour period in the early stages of the 2008 financial crisis. When an entry-level analyst unlocks information that could prove to be the downfall of the firm, a roller-coaster ride ensues as decisions both financial and moral catapult the lives of all involved to the brink of disaster.
The infertility industry in the United States has grown to a multi-billion dollar business. What is its main commodity? Human eggs. Young women all over the world are solicited by ads-via college campus bulletin boards, social media, online classifieds-offering up to $100,000 for their "donated" eggs, to "help make someone's dream come true." But who is this egg donor? Is she treated justly? What are the short and long-term risks to her health?
An Inconvenient Truth (DVD)
Former Vice President Al Gore explains the facts of global warming, presents arguments that the dangers of global warning have reached the level of crisis, and addresses the efforts of certain interests to discredit the anti-global warming cause. Between lecture segments, Gore discusses his personal commitment to the environment, sharing anecdotes from his experiences.
Snowpiercer (streaming, Swank)
After a botched experiment to reverse global warming plunges the planet into another ice age, mankind's few thousand survivors are herded onto the "Snowpiercer," an earth-girdling, self-sustaining bullet train. The rear-car passengers live in crushing destitution, until an uprising is mounted to storm the front-end stronghold of the privileged.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.