Searchable Databases & Catalogs for Films
- BU Search: FilmsThis will search both streaming video and DVDs available at the Krasker Film Library
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
- Poets on Screen This link opens in a new window Contains video clips of poets reading their own and other poets' works.
The complete list of the BU Library's streaming video databases can be found here.
If you're interested in audiovisual content, it may be worth trying these more specialized databases. For example:
- HistoryMakers: African American Video Oral History Collection This link opens in a new window HistoryMakers is a collection of video oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans. Transcripts are included with the interviews.
Searching these oral histories reveals Actor Harry Lennix discussing his Gothic childhood.
- Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive More than 2.5 million videos including public domain feature films, television and news service videos
A film found on the Internet Archive:
Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
- Internet Archive Using the top search box will search text, audio and film. Many older bookss can be found digitized in this collection.
- DPLA - Digital Public Library of America DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Podcasts
Loading ...
Loading ...
Librarian
Rachel Dwyer
she/ her
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies