Art and Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Film and Video
- Gaining Ground: Building Community on Dudley Street (Kanopy) In the midst of the economic meltdown, Gaining Ground explores the innovative, grassroots organizing efforts of the Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative (DSNI) in Boston. DSNI was created 25 years ago when the community had been devastated by bank redlining, arson-for-profit and illegal dumping, and has become one of the preeminent models for community-based change. Over the course of two years, we watch a new generation of leaders working to prevent foreclosures and bring jobs and
- Holding Ground: The Rebirth Of Dudley Street (Kanopy) This documentary by Mark Lipman and Leah Mahan is at once a cautionary tale of urban policies gone wrong and a message of hope for all American cities. In 1985, African-American, Latino, Cape Verdean, and European-American residents of the Dudley area united to revitalize their community. Through the voices of committed residents, activists and city officials, the documentary shows how a Boston neighborhood is pro-actively creating and carrying out its own agenda for change.
The World Before Your Feet: A Six-Year Journey Through New York City (2018)
There are 8,000 miles of roads and paths in New York City and for the past six years Matt Green has been walking them all – every street, park, cemetery, beach, and bridge. It's a journey that stretches from the barbershops of the Bronx to the forests of Staten Island, from the Statue of Liberty to Times Square, with Matt amassing a surprisingly detailed knowledge of New York's history and people along the way.
Nominated for Best Documentary Feature at the SXSW Film Festival.
FILM and VIDEO DATABASES
- Academic Video Online
- Kanopy
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) search your topic or keyword and LIMT to Film/Video
