Related Guides
What is an Exhibit Source?
Exhibits are sources you will use as evidence or as examples to analyze in your research. They could be photographs, paintings, poetry, films, stories, historical documents, or data. In other contexts, they might be referred to as 'primary sources'.
Artwork
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
-
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window This index records works of art from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550 with emphasis on art of the western world but more recently including art works from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. The archive includes manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and other media. The Index is essential for iconographical studies of Christian art.
-
Art in Context: Occult Art Art in Context is your holistic art encyclopedia. We offer you extensive information about the history of art, analyses of famous artworks, artist biopics, information on architecture, literature, photography, painting, and drawing.
-
Modern Artists Influenced by the Occult [Article, The Collector] The occult roots of modern art are way more profound than it might seem. Take a look at 10 modern artists who were influenced by the world of occultism....
Books & Articles
-
BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
-
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700
-
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window A systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It currently consists of 290 cultures.
Books: Search the BU Libraries Catalog
Tip: Use Advanced Search in BU Libraries Search to search a person's name as "Author/Creator" rather than "Any field" to find books or other materials they wrote rather than materials about them by others.
Books by:
- Aleister Crowley (books about Aleister Crowley)
- Giordano Bruno (books about Giordano Bruno)
- Paracelsus (books about Paracelsus)
- John Dee (books about John Dee)
- (books about Dion Fortune)
-
The Cabala of Pegasus
by
Giordano Bruno's Cabala del cavallo pegaseo (The Cabala of Pegasus) grew out of the great Italian philosopher's experiences lecturing and debating at Oxford in early 1584. Having received a cold reception there because of his viewpoints, Bruno went on in the Cabala to attack the narrow-mindedness of the university--and by extension, all universities that resisted his advocacy of intellectual freethinking. The Cabala of Pegasus consists of vernacular dialogues that turn on the identification of the noble Pegasus (the spirit of poetry) and the humble ass (the vehicle of divine revelation). In the interplay of these ideas, Bruno explores the nature of poetry, divine authority, secular learning, and Pythagorean metempsychosis, which had great influence on James Joyce and many other writers and artists from the Renaissance to the modern period. This book, the first English translation of The Cabala of Pegasus, contains both the English and Italian versions as well as helpful annotations. It will have particular appeal to all Renaissance scholars and those interested in the Renaissance cabalistic underpinnings of modern literature.
Location: onlineISBN: 9780300127911Publication Date: 2008
Newspapers
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
Videos / Film
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies