Related Guides
Find Data
- One can search by geography, restriction type, data format, collection method, data type, time method, time period, recent releases, funding agency, thematic collection, data availability, investigator, investigator affiliation, mode of data collection, and more.
- All studies are described using terms from the ICPSR Subject Thesaurus; these terms will appear as "Subject" filters on the left side of the results page.
- Because our holdings are large, we recommend using at least two query terms:
refugees massachusetts
children COVID-19 - Keywords help delimit the breadth of results. Therefore, use as many as required to achieve your desired results:
college students drinking - Our search will find studies with derivative expressions of your query terms: A search for
"nation"will find results containing "national" - Use quotes to search for an exact match:
"mass incarceration" - You can combine exact expressions with loose terms:
"united states" inmates - Exclude results by using a MINUS sign:
"parental leave" -Denmark -Norway
will exclude Danish and Norwegian parental leave research
Below is a search for the keywords women and violence:
Other ways to search:
- Browse by Subject Term Click on term below to narrow your search results by adding that term to your search.
- Browse by Topic Users have two options for identifying studies related to a particular topic. Topic Classifications address topics broadly, and are meant to be a good starting point for exploring the collection. The Thesaurus contains both broad and narrow terms that are more specific to the subject matter of individual studies. Our Thematic Collections are full websites that focus on particular subject areas.
Search / Compare Variables
The Social Science Variables Database (SSVD) enables ICPSR users to examine and compare variables and questions across studies or series. The SSVD currently includes over 5 million variables, representing about 76% of ICPSR's holdings that have quantitative data described in statistical syntax.
- Searching by Variable at ICPSR (YouTube) In this webinar recoring (originally broadcast on June 14, 2016), George Alter, Director of ICPSR, will demonstrate strategies for searching more than 4.5 million variable descriptions in ICPSR's Social Science Variables Database, including our new crosswalk between the American National Election Study and the General Social Survey. The ICPSR Website allows users to search for variables singly or in groups. The "Compare Variables" feature brings up question text, frequencies, universe and other information, and all searches are linked to ICPSR's dynamic online codebooks.
- Social Science Variables Database The Social Science Variables Database (SSVD) enables ICPSR users to examine and compare variables and questions across studies or series. The SSVD currently includes over 5 million variables, representing about 76% of ICPSR's holdings that have quantitative data described in statistical syntax.
- Browse by Study Click on term below to narrow your search results by adding that term to your search.
- Browse by Series Click on term below to narrow your search results by adding that term to your search.
