Skip to Main Content
Background Sources
Foodways and Folklore: A Handbook
In every land, various traditions, customs, and legends have developed around food. And because these diverse traditions are central to the multicultural character of the United States, ethnic foodlore permeates American society. From early Native American cultures to the modern influx of Asian and Middle Eastern immigrants, this book is an accessible introduction to foodlore and foodways.
We eat what? : a cultural encyclopedia of unusual foods in the United States
This fascinating encyclopedia examines over 100 foods that are unique to the United States as well as dishes found only in specific American regions and individual states.
Food and Drink in American History: A "Full Course" Encyclopedia
This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
Ethnic American Food Today: A Cultural Encyclopedia
Ethnic American Food Today introduces readers to the myriad ethnic food cultures in the U.S. today. Entries are organized alphabetically by nation and present the background and history of each food culture along with explorations of the place of that food in mainstream American society today. Many of the entries draw upon ethnographic research and personal experience, giving insights into the meanings of various ethnic food traditions as well as into what, how, and why people of different ethnicities are actually eating today.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.
Nectar & ambrosia : an encyclopedia of food in world mythology
The book covers the major food groups, beverages, herbs and spices; mythological concoctions such as Soma, the immortal drink of Indian legend; and foods of myth, such as Chinese moon cakes. A valuable introduction explains the connections among myth, food and ancient cultures; the rites and rituals of hunting, planting and harvesting; and taboo foods, edible offerings, forbidden fruits, fasts and feasts.
Food in Time and Place; the American Historical Association Companion to Food History
Food in Time and Place delivers an unprecedented review of the state of historical research on food, endorsed by the American Historical Association, providing readers with a geographically, chronologically, and topically broad understanding of food cultures--from ancient Mediterranean and medieval societies to France and its domination of haute cuisine.
Encyclopedia of Taboos
The Encyclopedia of Taboos is a mine of unusual information from around the world, including a comprehensive analysis of individual taboos from the ancient world to the present day, covering both well- and lesser-known examples.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
Filled with succinct, yet highly informative entries, the four-volume Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples.
The Oxford Companion to Food
Over 3,000 entries on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (2nd. ed)
Home cooks and gourmets, chefs and restaurateurs, epicures, and simple food lovers of all stripes will delight in this smorgasbord of the history and culture of food and drink. Professor of Culinary History Andrew Smith and nearly 200 authors bring together in 770 entries the scholarship on wide-ranging topics from airline and funeral food to fad diets and fast food; drinks like lemonade, Kool-Aid, and Tang; foodstuffs like Jell-O, Twinkies, and Spam; and Dagwood, hoagie, and Sloppy Joe sandwiches.
The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink
Offering a panoramic view of the history and culture of food and drink in America with fascinating entries on everything from the smell of asparagus to the history of White Castle, and the origin of Bloody Marys to jambalaya, the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink provides a concise, authoritative, and exuberant look at this modern American obsession.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Food
A comprehensive, A-to-Z guide to Jewish foods, recipes, and culinary traditions.
