Skip to Main Content
"Crime and Justice on Television," in Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The past two decades have seen the emergence of a variety of crime-based reality television shows that purport to give watchers an insider’s view of the criminal justice system. The convergence of private and public in a mediated context, particularly in the form of infotainment, is a consequence of late modernity.
"Cultural Criminology," in Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Cultural criminology is designed to place issues of meaning, symbolism, and interpretation at the forefront of the criminological enterprise. Cultural criminologists argue that both crime and crime control operate as cultural endeavors, with their personal and social consequences constructed out of contested processes of collective representation and interpretation.
Criminal Justice Handbook on Masculinity, Male Aggression, and Sexuality
Criminal Justice Handbook on Masculinity, Male Aggression, and Sexuality discusses masculinity as a social construct, an ideal, and an impediment for males and females. The book explores how the law equalizes, protects, bridles, and enforces masculinity while dealing with crime, which often exploits and exaggerates masculinity. Among the topics addressed are historical and contemporary law, scientific understandings, issues in corrections, military service, the court system, policing, criminal procedure, medicine, and treatment.
Crime, Deviance and Popular Culture: International and Multidisciplinary Perspectives
This book explores the links between crime, deviance and popular culture in our highly-mediatised era, offering an insight into the cultural processes through which particular practices acquire a criminal or deviant status, and come to be seen as social problems. Adopting a multidisciplinary approach, the edited collection brings together international scholars across various areas of specialisation to provide an up-to-date analysis of some important and topical issues in 21st-century popular culture. The chapters look at different aspects of popular culture, including fictional detective narratives and the true crime genre, popular media constructions of sexual deviance and Islamophobia, sports, graffiti and outlaw biker subcultures.
The Handbook of Research on Black Males: Quantitative, Qualitative, and Multidisciplinary
Drawing from the work of top researchers in various fields, The Handbook of Research on Black Males explores the nuanced and multifaceted phenomena known as the black male. Simultaneously hyper-visible and invisible, black males around the globe are being investigated now more than ever before; however, many of the well-meaning responses regarding media attention paid to black males are not well informed by research.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige.
African Americans and Criminal Justice : An Encyclopedia
Providing coverage of law and criminal justice practices from the precolonial period, including the introduction of African slaves, up to practices in modern-day America, this encyclopedia presents a frank and comprehensive view of how Americans of African descent have come to be viewed as synonymous with criminality. This book represents an essential learning resource for all American citizens, regardless of race or age.
A Companion to the Gangster Film
A companion to the study of the gangster film's international appeal spanning the Americas, Europe, and Asia A Companion to the Gangster Film presents a comprehensive overview of the newest scholarship on the contemporary gangster film genre as a global phenomenon. While gangster films are one of America's most popular genres, gangster movies appear in every film industry across the world. With
Historical Dictionary of Crime Films
The crime film genre consists of detective films, gangster films, suspense thrillers, film noir, and caper films and is produced throughout the world. Crime film was there at the birth of cinema, and it has accompanied cinema over more than a century of history, passing from silent films to talkies, from black-and-white to color. The genre includes such classics as The Maltese Falcon, The Godfather, Gaslight, The French Connection, and Serpico, as well as more recent successes like Seven, Drive, and L.A. Confidential.
The Cambridge Companion to Edgar Allan Poe
The contributions to the Cambridge Companion to Edgar Allan Poe provide new perspectives on one America's most controversial and enigmatic writers. This volume includes a comprehensive guide to further reading and a detailed chronology.
The Crime Fiction Handbook
The Crime Fiction Handbook presents a comprehensive introduction to the origins, development, and cultural significance of the crime fiction genre, focusing mainly on American British, and Scandinavian texts. Provides an accessible and well-written introduction to the genre of crime fiction Moves with ease between a general overview of the genre and useful theoretical approaches Includes a close analysis of the key texts in the crime fiction tradition Identifies what makes crime fiction of such cultural importance and illuminates the social and political anxieties at its heart. Shows the similarities and differences between British, American, and Scandinavian crime fiction traditions
The Cambridge Companion to Crime Fiction
The Cambridge Companion to Crime Fiction covers British and American crime fiction from the eighteenth century to the end of the twentieth. As well as discussing the detective fiction of writers like Arthur Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie and Raymond Chandler, it considers other kinds of fiction where crime plays a substantial part, such as the thriller and spy fiction. It also includes chapters on the treatment of crime in eighteenth-century literature, French and Victorian fiction, women and black detectives, crime on film and TV, police fiction and postmodernist uses of the detective form. The collection, by an international team of established specialists, offers students invaluable reference material including a chronology and guides to further reading. The volume aims to ensure that its readers will be grounded in the history of crime fiction and its critical reception.
The Cambridge Companion to American Crime Fiction
From the execution sermons of the Colonial era to television programs like The Wire and The Sopranos, crime writing has played an important role in American culture. Its ability to register fear, desire and anxiety has made it a popular genre with a wide audience. These new essays, written for students as well as readers of crime fiction, demonstrate the very best in contemporary scholarship and challenge long-established notions of the development of the detective novel. Each chapter covers a sub-genre, from 'true crime' to hard-boiled novels, illustrating the ways in which 'popular' and 'high' literary genres influence and shape each other. With a chronology and guide to further reading, this Companion is a helpful guide for students of American literature and readers of crime fiction.
100 Must-Read Crime Novels : Bloomsbury Good Reading Guides
Want to become a crime novel buff, or expand your reading in your favourite genre? This is a good place to start. From the publishers of the popular, Good Reading Guide comes a rich selection of the some of the finest crime novels ever published. With 100 of the best titles fully reviewed and a further 500 recommended, you'll quickly become an expert on the world of crime. The book also allows you to browse by theme, includes 'a reader's fast-guide to the world of crime fiction' as well listing the top 10 crime characters and their creators, award winners, and book club recommendations.