Research: WR151: Commerce and Character: Economic Information

Economic Databases

Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Reports This link opens in a new window
Each country page in the EIU database provides forecast updates and featured analysis on economic and political events as well as content pertaining to market opportunities, government regulations and the financial services sector.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) contains statistics from over 200 countries including social, economic and financial indicators.

For additional economic databases see the Economics guide.

Finding Articles

Articles are also a good source for finding information on a company’s leadership and D&I initiatives. Search for articles in the following business articles databases. Use search terms such as “organizational behavior,” “human capital,” “employee motivation,” “corporate culture," and "diversity in the workplace."

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit contains citations and selected abstracts of international literature in the field of economics. It is produced by the American Economic Association and corresponds to the print Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles. It covers journal articles, dissertations and books, as well as chapters and articles in books and conference proceedings.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. OKR contains research from thousands of works including World Bank published books, World Development Reports, Policy Research Working Papers, Economic and Sector Work studies, journal articles, and World Bank Group annual reports and independent evaluation studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to academic literature from many disciplines. The sources include articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions and come from diverse places including academic publishers, online repositories and other websites.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.

The Economist

Boston University's access to The Economist in full-text (with charts and images, etc.) is generally limited to the past 12 months in print form. Access to The Economist is also available electronically through the ProQuest ABI/INFORM Collection (1992 - present) and Gale Business Insights (1988 - present), however, that content is available in HTML format which means charts and images are not likely to be included.

The Economist at Boston University - print availability is limited to the past 12 months, while electronic availability goes back to 1988 (Gale) but is limited to HTML format.

Economist Historical Archive may also be accessed from the Boston Public Library through a BPL ecard and this resource provides a completely searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2014. While Boston University also has access to many years of older content through microfilm, it is much easier to access it through the Economist Historical Archive.

If you need help accessing articles from The Economist, please contact the Pardee Library Reference Desk.