Finding Articles
To locate articles in business publications and newspapers, use the databases listed below. Use search terms such as business ethics, corporate responsibility, corporate social responsibility, democracy and virtue.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Business Abstracts with Full Text is a database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals; it also includes full text of selected periodicals.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Featured Journals
A selection of titles appear below. For additional journals, see the eJournals search page.
- Business Ethics QuarterlyAvailable through Business Source Complete.
- Corporate Governance AdvisorAvailable through Business Source Complete.
- Corporate Governance (Bradford)Available through ABI/INFORM Global.
- Corporate Social Responsibility and Environmental ManagementAvailable through ABI/INFORM Global.
- SustainabilityAvailable through Directory of Open Access Journals.
- Sustainability ScienceAvailable through Springer-Verlag LINK.
- Global Virtue Ethics ReviewAvailable through ABI/INFORM Complete and Gale Academic OneFile
- Public Administration & ManagementAvailable through ABI/INFORM Complete and Gale Academic OneFile
- Journal of Business EthicsAvailable through multiple databases.
Ratings
- MSCI ESG Direct This link opens in a new windowTracks the social, environmental and governance of corporations throughout the world.
Organizations and Associations
- BSDglobalThis site is from the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD), a nonprofit group funded by the Canadian government. This site explains the strategies and tools that companies can use to translate an aspiration for sustainability into practical, effective solutions. Case studies from around the world are provided.
- Business for Social ResponsibilityBSR™ is a team of sustainable business experts that works with its global network of more than 250 member companies to build a just and sustainable world. From our offices in Asia, Europe, and North America, BSR™ provides insight, advice, and collaborative initiatives to help you see a changing world more clearly, create long-term business value, and scale impact.
- Dow Jones Sustainability IndicesThe Dow Jones Sustainability Indices are global indices that track the financial performance of the leading sustainability-driven companies worldwide.
- Feasta: The Foundation for the Economics of SustainabilityFeasta aims to identify the characteristics (economic, cultural and environmental) of a truly sustainable society, articulate how the necessary transition can be effected and promote the implementation of the measures required for this purpose.
- Fostering Sustainable BehaviorProvides resources for those working to foster sustainable behaviors, such as those involved in conservation, energy efficiency, transportation, waste reduction, and water efficiency.
- Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)GRI is an independent international organization that has pioneered sustainability reporting and provides Sustainability Reporting Standards (GRI Standards) that are used by many companies worldwide.
- International Business Leaders Forum (IBLF) GlobalThe International Business Leaders Forum (IBLF) Global works with business, governments and civil society to enhance the contribution that companies can make to sustainable development.
- International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)IIED is an independent research organization that work with people in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Central and South America, the Middle East and the Pacific, to ensure they have a say in the policy arenas that most closely affect them.
- International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)International Institute for Sustainable Development is a policy research institute dedicated to engaging decision-makers in government, business, NGOs in the development and implementation of policies that are simultaneously beneficial to the global economy, the global environment and to social well-being.
- International Society of Sustainability Professionals (ISSP)The International Society of Sustainability Professionals (ISSP) is a non-profit association for professionals who are committed to making sustainability a standard practice.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
For additional resources, please see the Energy & Sustainability guide and the Business Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility guide.
Reference & Instruction Librarian
dmoylan@bu.edu
Room 318F
Pardee Library