National Library of Medicine - Images from the History of MedicineImages from the History of Medicine (IHM) in NLM Digital Collections provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings. The NSDL collection contains structured descriptive information (metadata) about web-based educational resources held on other sites by their providers.
National Institutes of Health: Flickr Image Gallery"The NIH Image Gallery on Flickr provides images that are free to use with credit.
Images are meant for use by the science and health community, the press that covers health and science, teachers and other educators in health and science and non-profit organizations that produce health and science information. It is not intended for commercial use."
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) from the Centers for Disease Control & PreventionMuch of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. They welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.
PixabayPixabay.com is an international,free-to-use website for sharing photos, illustrations, vector graphics, and film footage. All video and image files available on the platform can be used without attribution requirement.
ARTstorThis link opens in a new windowARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
AP ImagesAP Images includes more than 3.5 million Associated Press primary-source photographs with original captions for every discipline. Also available are audio files from the 1920s to the present.
PBS VideoThe Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) is an is a nonprofit organization and the most prominent provider of educational television programming to public television stations in the United States.
Moving Image ArchiveInternet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
ResearchChannel - YouTubeA consortium of leading research and academic institutions that share the valuable work of their researchers with the public.
C-Span Video LibraryC-SPAN is a public service created by the American Cable Television Industry. To provide C-SPAN's audience access to the live gavel-to-gavel proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided––all without editing, commentary or analysis and with a balanced presentation of points of view.
Academic Video OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowKanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowStreaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels . Date coverage: NBC video 1968 - present; CNN video 1995 - present.
Creative CommonsCreative Commons is an American non-profit organization devoted to expanding the range of creative works available for others to build upon legally and to share. The organization has released several copyright-licenses, known as Creative Commons licenses, free of charge to the public.
BU Digital Multimedia CommonsThe Digital Multimedia Common (DMC) site is a starting point for the BU community to help with the exploration of Digital/Multimedia Expression and Multimedia Literacy. There is a considerable emphasis on the Adobe Creative Cloud, which is now available to a large portion of the BU community at no or little cost.
Media CollegeMediaCollege.com is a free educational website for all forms of electronic media. There are hundreds of tutorials covering video & television production, audio work, photography, graphics, web design and more. You'll also find utilities, reference material and more. Everything here is 100% free with no strings attached — they ask that you respect the terms & conditions and maybe consider helping out a bit.
Kaltura My Media via BU IS&TMy Media, an enterprise video platform, is a cloud based video streaming service for delivery of BU-licensed or produced content to authorized viewers. The platform allows management of audio visual assets and delivery via streaming media to multiple devices, anytime, anywhere.
Students can upload content to My Media via their Blackboard courses which have integrated with this service.