Find Books
Some keywords to search for books:
- marine biotechnology
- ocean regulation
- ocean technology
- ocean engineering
- ocean management
- oceanography
Environmental Planning and Management for Oceans and Coasts by
This book informs environmental planning professionals, students and those interested in oceans and coasts from an environmental perspective about what is needed for planning and management of these unique environments. It is comprised of twelve chapters organized in three parts. Part I highlights the basics tenets of environmental planning for oceans and coasts including important concepts from the general field of planning and coastal and ocean management (e.g., hydrography, oceans policy and law, geomorphology). Environmental problems inherent within oceans and coasts (such as sea level rise, marine pollution, overdevelopment, etc.) are also addressed, especially those at the land-sea interface. Part II covers those methodological approaches regularly used by planners working to improve environmental quality and conditions of oceans and coasts among them: integrated planning and management, ecosystem services, pollution prevention, and marine spatial planning. Part III focuses specifically on state-of-the-art tools and technologies employed by planners for marine and coastal protection. These include systematic conservation planning for protected areas, decision support tools, coastal adaptation techniques and various types of communication, including visualization, narration and tools for stakeholder participation. The final chapter in the book reviews the most important concepts covered throughout book and emphasizes the important role that environmental planners have to play in the protection and well-being of oceans and coasts. Michael K. Orbach, of the Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke University, penned the book's foreword.
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Ocean Engineering by
This encyclopedia adopts a wider definition for the concept of ocean engineering. Specifically, it includes (1) offshore engineering: fixed and floating offshore oil and gas platforms; pipelines and risers; cables and moorings; buoy technology; foundation engineering; ocean mining; marine and offshore renewable energy; aquaculture engineering; and subsea engineering.
Publication Date: 2020
Observing the Oceans in Real Time by
This book provides contributions from leading experts on the integration of novel sensing technologies to yield unprecedented observations of coupled biological, chemical, and physical processes in the ocean from the macro to micro scale. Authoritative entries from experts around the globe provide first-hand information for oceanographers and researchers looking for solutions to measurement problems. Ocean observational techniques have seen rapid advances in the last few years and this book addresses the need for a single overview of present and future trends in near real time and real time. First the past, present and future scenarios of ocean observational tools and techniques are elucidated. Then this book divides into three modes of ocean observations: surface, upper ocean and deep ocean. This is followed by data quality and modelling. Collecting a summary of methods and applications, this book provides first-hand information for oceanographers and researchers looking for solutions to measurement problems. This book is also suitable for final year undergraduate students or beginning graduate students in ocean engineering, oceanography and various other engineering students (such as Mechanical, Civil, Electrical, and Bioengineering) who are interested in specializing their skills towards modern measurements of the ocean.
Publication Date: 2017
Springer Handbook of Ocean Engineering by
This handbook is the definitive reference for the interdisciplinary field that is ocean engineering. It integrates the coverage of fundamental and applied material and encompasses a diverse spectrum of systems, concepts and operations in the maritime environment, as well as providing a comprehensive update on contemporary, leading-edge ocean technologies. Coverage includes an overview on the fundamentals of ocean science, ocean signals and instrumentation, coastal structures, developments in ocean energy technologies and ocean vehicles and automation. It aims at practitioners in a range of offshore industries and naval establishments as well as academic researchers and graduate students in ocean, coastal, offshore and marine engineering and naval architecture. The Springer Handbook of Ocean Engineering is organized in five parts: Part A: Fundamentals, Part B: Autonomous Ocean Vehicles, Subsystems and Control, Part C: Coastal Design, Part D: Offshore Technologies, Part E: Energy Conversion
Publication Date: 2016
Preventive Methods for Coastal Protection by
The aim of the book is to present for non-specialist researchers as well as for experts a comprehensive overview of the background, key ideas, basic methods, implementation details and a selection of solutions offered by a novel technology for the optimisation of the location of dangerous offshore activities in terms of environmental criteria, as developed in the course of the BalticWay project. The book consists of two parts. The first part introduces the basic principles of ocean modeling and depicts the long way from the generic principles to the practical modeling of oil spills and of the propagation of other adverse impacts. The second part focuses on the techniques for solving the inverse problem of the quantification of offshore areas with respect to their potential to serve as a source of environmental danger to vulnerable regions (such as spawning, nursing or also tourist areas). The chapters are written in a tutorial sty≤ they are mostly self-contained and understandable for non-specialist researchers and students. They are carefully peer-reviewed by international experts. The goal was to produce a book that highlights all key steps, methods, models and data sets it is necessary to combine in order to produce a practically usable technology and/or decision support system for a particular sea region. Thus the book is useful not only as a description and a manual of this particular technology but also as a roadmap highlighting the complicated technical issues of ocean modeling for practical purposes. It describes the approaches taken by the authors in an understandable way and thus is useful for educational purposes, such as a course in industrially and environmentally relevant applications of ocean modeling. ​
Publication Date: 2013
50 Years of Ocean Discovery by
This book describes the development of ocean sciences over the past 50 years, highlighting the contributions of the National Science Foundation (NSF) to the field's progress. Many of the individuals who participated in the exciting discoveries in biological oceanography, chemical oceanography, physical oceanography, and marine geology and geophysics describe in the book how the discoveries were made possible by combinations of insightful individuals, new technology, and in some cases, serendipity. In addition to describing the advance of ocean science, the book examines the institutional structures and technology that made the advances possible and presents visions of the field's future. This book is the first-ever documentation of the history of NSF (TM)s Division of Ocean Sciences, how the structure of the division evolved to its present form, and the individuals who have been responsible for ocean sciences at NSF as oerotators and career staff over the past 50 years.
Publication Date: 2000
Marine Renewable Energy Handbook by
Marine renewable energy is a significant resource for generating electricity, and if some conversion technologies have already reached a certain level of maturity, others are emerging. The originality of this multidisciplinary book is to offer a broad spectrum of knowledge from academic and industry experts of various origins. It deals with general aspects such as the specificities and constraints of the marine environment, the concepts of hydrodynamics and ocean engineering, as well as the industrial and economic sides necessary for the assembly of projects. It also discusses conversion technologies such as offshore wind, tidal power plants, tidal stream turbines, wave energy converters and ocean thermal energy plants. Finally, two chapters are devoted to power electronic conversion and power transmission cables.
Publication Date: 2013
Measuring Ocean Currents by
Measuring Ocean Currents: Tools, Technologies, and Data covers all major aspects of ocean current measurements in view of the implications of ocean currents on changing climate, increasing pollution levels, and offshore engineering activities. Although more than 70% of the Earth is covered by ocean, there is limited information on the countless fine- to large-scale water motions taking place within them. This book fills that information gap as the first work that summarizes the state-of-the-art methods and instruments used for surface, subsurface, and abyssal ocean current measurements. Readers of this book will find a wealth of information on Lagrangian measurements, horizontal mapping, imaging, Eulerian measurements, and vertical profiling techniques. In addition, the book describes modern technologies for remote measurement of ocean currents and their signatures, including HF Doppler radar systems, satellite-borne sensors, ocean acoustic tomography, and more. Crucial aspects of ocean currents are described in detail as well, including dispersion of effluents discharged into the sea and transport of beneficial materials--as well as environmentally hazardous materials--from one region to another. The book highlights several important practical applications, showing how measurements relate to climate change and pollution levels, how they affect coastal and offshore engineering activities, and how they can aid in tsunami detection.
Publication Date: 2013
Pollution in the Black Sea Observations about the Ocean's Pollution by
"This book provides information on the causes, consequences, and possible solutions to modern environmental problems associated with ocean pollution with a particular focus on the Back Sea. The oceans are a vast but fragile complex. In recent decades, it has become especially manifest when ocean pollution has reached an unparalleled situation. Meanwhile, not only the well-being of ecosystems depends on the state of ocean waters, but human civilization largely depends on the oceans as a consequence of environmental dependence. This book examines the consequences of pollutants such as oil and hydrocarbon products (including plastics and microplastics), water acidification, sewage, wastewaters discharge into the ocean, thermal pollution, nuclear pollution, and biological pollution."
Publication Date: 2021
