Radio and Television
- TV5Monde Global francophone television network
Newspapers
Library Guides
BU Newspaper Databases
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local newspapers, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Newspaper Portals
- ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers The ICON database is the most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats.
- Digital French-Language Newspaper Portal - EuroDocs This portal to online French-language newspapers includes publications regardless of geographic location. The emphasis is on historical newspaper holdings; lists of current digital editions can be found in the Internet Public Library and elsewhere. General news is the main focus; specialized, narrow, trade or niche newspapers are not well represented.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. The dLOC partner institutions are the core of dLOC. dLOC partners retain all rights to their materials and provide access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Gallica Explore the digital collections of the French National Library by theme, chronological period or geographic region
- Réseau francophone numérique Collects digital documents from participating Francophone countries
- Jeune Afrique Website for current news from Francophone Africa.
Film Resources
BU Databases:
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
- Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Screen Studies Collection brings the Film Periodicals Database, Film Index International, and the AFI Catalog together in one site.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Indexes, abstracts, and provides full text of articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes several film reference books. Abstracts late 19th century - present; full text 1930s - present.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new window Provides in-depth indexing of films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and biographical information for film personalities. It also includes presentations from international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
Find Books/eBooks on:
Cinéma-Monde: : Decentred Perspectives on Global Filmmaking in French by
The first book devoted to a wide-ranging study of developments in global French-language cinema, from Quebec to Mauritania and from Belgium to Cambodia, Cinéma-monde picks up on the lively scholarly debates generated by the related topic of littérature-monde. Extending the scope of this debate to cover the thriving and diverse area of international French-language cinema, this innovative book also considers cinema from France within the context of global production.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2018
Re-Hybridizing Transnational Domesticity and Femininity by
Re-hybridizing Transnational Domesticity and Femininity examines the problems of voicing the personal when considering the role and place of women in the home. Analyzing a collection of first-person cinematic and literary narratives by Assia Djebar, Annie Ernaux, Simone de Beauvoir, Raja Amari, Coline Serreau, Lela Sebbar, and Yamina Benguigui, Webre-Feve explores the transnational processes of identity formation, gender performance, and construction of culture and society. Through a closer look at contemporary representations of French, Algerian, and Tunisian women on the page and on the screen, this book describes the ways in which homemaking nation, and gender are intricately bound to one another and situated in personal history.
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ149 .W38 2010Publication Date: 2010
Francophone African Cinema by
Setting the stage for a critical encounter between Francophone African cinema and Continental European critical theory, this book offers a transnational and interdisciplinary analysis of 16 Francophone African films, including Bassek Ba Kobhio's The Great White Man of Lambarene, Cheick Oumar Sissoko's Guimba the Tyrant, and Amadou Seck's Saaraba.
Location: Mugar Stacks PN1993.5.A35 F75 2009 and OnlinePublication Date: 2009
