Find more articles - Bibliographies & Search Engines
- LITAF: Littératures Africaine Francophone LITAF : une référence générale sur les littératures de l'Afrique noire francophone. La base de données bibliographique LITAF donne des informations complètes sur la production littéraire en langue française de l'Afrique subsaharienne.LITAF est à l'origine un projet du groupe de recherche "Littératures d'Afrique noire" (groupe aujourd'hui dissous) dirigé par Alain Ricard†, directeur de recherches émerite au Centre National de Recherche Scientifique. LITAF bénéficie du statut de projet associé au laboratoire "Les Afriques dans le Monde" - LAM (Unité mixte de recherche 5115 CNRS / SciencesPo Bordeaux) dirigé par Céline Thiriot. LITAF a reçu le soutien du Conseil Régional d'Aquitaine du 1997 à 2000 et de l'Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie (OIF) pour l'année 2008. Le site de LITAF est hébérgé par LAM. Remerciements à LAM et à l'APELA (Association pour l'étude des littératures africaines) dont l'aide précieux a rendu possible l'amélioration de la grille de recherche et sa remise en ligne après une intérruption en août et septembre 2016.
- Persée Open access digital library of French-language scholarly journals grouped by discipline.
- Isidore Search engine for research in the Humanities and Social Sciences
World Literature in French
Browse Books/eBooks on:
Francophone Post-Colonial Cultures by
A collection of discussions of literary texts from areas as diverse as Europe and North Africa, the Caribbean and South Asia, regions of the world that seem to have only their language in common. But despite enormous differences among all the countries where French is spoken, Francophone literatures tend to deal with a smiliar spread of issues. This volume positions the study of the Francophone world and its cultures as a comparative project, in which post-colonial Francophone cultures and the specific alterity of these cultures emerge as inextricable from and essential to an understanding of modern France. The volume is organized by region, with an international roster of contributions, and includes summaries of selected creative and critical works and a guide to selected terms and figures.
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ3897 .F73 2003Publication Date: 2003
Race Culture and Identity : Francophone West African and Caribbean literature and theory from négritude to créolité by
In this groundbreaking book, Shireen Lewis gives a comprehensive analysis of the literary and theoretical discourse on race, culture, and identity by Francophone and Caribbean writers beginning in the early part of the twentieth century and continuing into the dawn of the new millennium. Examining the works of Patrick Chamoiseau, Rapha l Confiant, AimZ CZsaire, LZopold Senghor, LZon Damas, and Paulette Nardal, Lewis traces a move away from the preoccupation with African origins and racial and cultural purity, toward concerns of hybridity and fragmentation in the New World or Diasporic space. In addition to exploring how this shift parallels the larger debate around modernism and postmodernism, Lewis makes a significant contribution by arguing for the inclusion of Martinican intellectual Paulette Nardal, and other women into the canon as significant contributors to the birth of modern black Francophone literature.
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ3940 .L48 2006Publication Date: 2006
Creole Renegades: Rhetoric of Betrayal and Guilt in the Caribbean Diaspora by
In Creole Renegades, Bénédicte Boisseron looks at exiled Caribbean authors--Edwidge Danticat, Jamaica Kincaid, V. S. Naipaul, Maryse Condé, Dany Laferriére, and more--whose works have been well received in their adopted North American countries but who are often viewed by their home islands as sell-outs, opportunists, or traitors. These expatriate and second-generation authors refuse to be simple bearers of Caribbean culture, often dramatically distancing themselves from the postcolonial archipelago. Their writing is frequently infused with an enticing sense of cultural, sexual, or racial emancipation, but their deviance is not defiant. Underscoring the typically ignored contentious relationship between modern diaspora authors and the Caribbean, Boisseron ultimately argues that displacement and creative autonomy are often manifest in guilt and betrayal, central themes that emerge again and again in the work of these writers.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Algeria in Others' Languages by
For decades the superimposition of languages in Algeria has had growing cultural and political consequences. The relations between identity and language, already complicated before independence, became all the more entangled after 1962 when the new state imposed standard Arabic as the sole national language. The vernacular brand of Arabic spoken by the majority of the population as well as Berber, spoken by an important minority were denied legitimacy. Moreover, French, the colonial language, continued to be important all the while that its position changed. The violence that ensued in the late 1980s cannot be fully understood without considering the politics of language. This timely book is devoted to Algeria's linguistic predicament and the underlying disagreements over notions of identity, power, and belonging.What problems arise when a new national language is adopted by a postcolonial state? How does the status of the former colonial language change? What becomes of the original "mother tongue(s)" of the populace? The authors of Algeria in Others' Languages address these questions as they explore the historical, cultural, and philosophical significance of language in Algeria, and its relation to issues of politics and gender. Their topics range from analyses of political violence to the status of the principal of evidence in the legal system to the place of "Francophonie" in the 1990s.The authors represent the fields of literature, history, sociology, sociolinguistics, and postcolonial and gender studies; some are also historical players in Algeria's linguistic debates."
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ6074 .A44 2002Publication Date: 2002
Le roman vietnamien francophone : Orientalisme, occidentalisme et hybridité by
Si la construction de l'Extrême-Orient par les écrivains occidentaux est un fait littéraire largement étudié, bien rares sont les explorations des œuvres orientalistes d'auteurs eux-mêmes issus des anciennes colonies. Avertissement à qui s'attendrait à découvrir ici une prose subversive, ou simplement une vision plus réaliste du Vietnam de l'époque coloniale : quelques surprises l'attendent. Souvent, en effet, les romanciers ont fait leurs les clichés de l'orientalisme métropolitain.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2010
Find books by/about selected Francophone authors
BU Subject Databases
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window The ARTFL Project consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes journal articless, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000. May be searched simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window An index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Women's Studies International indexes women's studies, women's issues and gender-focused journal and magazine articles, books and book chapters, dissertations and reports worldwide.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
