Area Studies
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Published by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
- Country Studies (via Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
Francophone Studies: The Essential Glossary by
This glossary offers an introduction to Francophone Studies and a route-map to further study. Designed specifically with undergraduates in mind, it contains concise and accessible explanations of the key words, events, figures and concepts in Francophone Studies since 1945. From 'Afropessimisme' and 'Brazzaville Declaration' to 'Setif Uprising' and 'Wilaya', it gives an interdisciplinary overview of Francophone Studies, and offers directions for further reading. Covering politics, popular culture, private life, cultural institutions and significant events, the entries are fully cross-referenced and assume no prior knowledge, making this an essential reference for students of Francophone Studies in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Location: African Studies Library Reference DC33.7 .F724 2002Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History by
With nearly two hundred and fifty individually signed entries, the Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History explores the ways in which the peoples of Africa and their politics, states, societies, economies, environments, cultures and arts were transformed during the course of that Janus-faced century. Overseen by a diverse and distinguished international team of consultant editors, the Encyclopedia provides a thorough examination of the global and local forces that shaped the changes that the continent underwent. Combining essential factual description with evaluation and analysis, the entries tease out patterns from across the continent as a whole, as well as within particular regions and countries: it is the first work of its kind to present such a comprehensive overview of twentieth-century African history. With full indexes and a thematic entry list, together with ample cross-referencing and suggestions for further reading, the Encyclopedia will be welcomed as an essential work of reference by both scholar and student of twentieth-century African history. Choice Outstanding Academic Title 2004
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2002
African Caribbeans: A Reference Guide by
The African Diaspora left an indelible imprint on Caribbean countries and islands. This reference, the only broad historical and cultural survey of the black experience in the Caribbean, celebrates the Afro-Caribbean diversity of the countries it profiles. Each of the 15 chapters introduces a country, island, or group of islands, providing an overview from the arrival of slaves to the current situation. Topics include, history, economy, politics, social stratification, race relations, cultural highlights, religion, and notable figures. Readers will discover the broad range of languages, political systems, racial makeup, historical uniqueness, and cultural offerings that shape the Caribbean. A chronology, glossary, and photos enhance the text.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin America's 37 countries. New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Chavez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession. Edited by Jay Kinsbruner and an international team of consultants on three continents.
Location: Mugar Reference X F1406 .E53 2008 and OnlinePublication Date: 2008
The Caribbean: a history of the region and its peoples by
Combining fertile soils, vital trade routes, and a coveted strategic location, the islands and surrounding continental lowlands of the Caribbean were one of Europe's earliest and most desirable colonial frontiers. The region was colonized over the course of five centuries by a revolving cast of Spanish, Dutch, French, and English forces, who imported first African slaves and later Asian indentured laborers to help realize the economic promise of sugar, coffee, and tobacco. The Caribbean: A History of the Region and Its Peoples offers an authoritative one-volume survey of this complex and fascinating region. This groundbreaking work traces the Caribbean from its pre-Columbian state through European contact and colonialism to the rise of U.S. hegemony and the economic turbulence of the twenty-first century. The volume begins with a discussion of the region's diverse geography and challenging ecology and features an in-depth look at the transatlantic slave trade, including slave culture, resistance, and ultimately emancipation. Later sections treat Caribbean nationalist movements for independence and struggles with dictatorship and socialism, along with intractable problems of poverty, economic stagnation, and migrancy. Written by a distinguished group of contributors, The Caribbean is an accessible yet thorough introduction to the region's tumultuous heritage which offers enough nuance to interest scholars across disciplines. In its breadth of coverage and depth of detail, it will be the definitive guide to the region for years to come.
Location: Mugar Stacks F2175 .C325 2011Publication Date: 2011
Southeast Asia: Past and Present by
Southeast Asia: Past and Present offers a balanced and readable account of the region from ancient to modern times, covering traditional history as well as current events. D. R. SarDesai achieves a delicate balance exploring the importance of the period of European colonial rule in Southeast Asia without overemphasis as he introduces students to the regions and peoples of Myanmar, Thailand, Malaysia, Brunei, Singapore, Indonesia, East Timor, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, and the Philippines. Readers will find insightful introductions at the beginning of each part to aid in understanding the global and political implications of the events discussed. The seventh edition is thoroughly updated to offer coverage of current events, including the historic 2012 elections in Myanmar and Aung San Suu Kyi's successful bid for election to the Parliament, the rise of Yingluck Shinawatra to the position of prime minister of neighboring Thailand, and the consolidation of the ASEAN and its consideration of China's claim to the South China Sea. Combining thematic and chronological approaches with the study of colonialism, nationalism, historical and cultural heritage, and current events, Southeast Asia manages to convey an Asian point of view throughout. The second edition of Southeast Asian History: Essential Readings (978-0-8133-4857-5) is also available from D. R. SarDesai and Westview Press as a complementary or a standalone text.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
Literature Guides
Introduction Aux Littératures Francophones by
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ3809 .I587 2004 and OnlinePublication Date: 2004
The Cambridge Introduction to Francophone Literature by
The literature of French-speaking countries forms a distinct body of work quite separate from literature written in France itself, offering a passionate creative engagement with their postcolonial cultures. This book provides an introduction to the literatures that have emerged in the French-speaking countries and regions of the world in recent decades, illustrating their astonishing breadth and diversity, and exploring their constant state of tension with the literature of France. The study opens with a wide-ranging discussion of the idea of francophonie. Each chapter then provides readers with historical background to a particular region and identifies the key issues that have influenced the emergence of a literature in French, before going on to examine in detail a selection of the major writers. These case studies tackle many of the key authors of the francophone world, as well as authors writing today.
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ3897 .C67 2007Publication Date: 2007
The Cambridge Companion to the African Novel by
Africa's strong tradition of storytelling has long been an expression of an oral narrative culture. African writers such as Amos Tutuola, Naguib Mahfouz, Wole Soyinka and J. M. Coetzee have adapted these older forms to develop and enhance the genre of the novel, in a shift from the oral mode to print. Comprehensive in scope, these new essays cover the fiction in the European languages from North Africa and Africa south of the Sahara, as well as in Arabic. They highlight the themes and styles of the African novel through an examination of the works that have either attained canonical status - an entire chapter is devoted to the work of Chinua Achebe - or can be expected to do so. Including a guide to further reading and a chronology, this is the ideal starting-point for students of African and world literatures.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopediasuccessfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedia is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 ) and OnlinePublication Date: 2004
Le roman vietnamien francophone : Orientalisme, occidentalisme et hybridité by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature by
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature was first published in 1983 to great acclaim. In the fourteen years since its publication Canadian literature has enjoyed an explosion of creative talent. The new edition brings this invaluable reference work completely up to date, with more than350 new entries on many new writers, new books, and extended entries on established authors. In keeping with the original, entries cover fiction, prose, poetry, and drama, prominent writers, literary magazines, publishers and more general topics. All existing entries have been completely updatedto reflect the mose recent publications by writers included in the original edtion. From The Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz to the Rebel Angles, Sandra Birdsell to Eric Wright, Brick to the Writer's Development Trust, and Caribbean-Canadian literature to War literature, this completely revisededition is not only an invaluable resource, but a browser's delight for anyone interested in Canadian literature.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 1998
The Mauritian Novel: Fictions of Belonging by
On 12 March 2018, Mauritius celebrated fifty years as an independent nation amidst much fanfare. Yet behind the nation's official image of multicultural "unity in diversity" lurk deep socio-economic inequalities and inter-ethnic tensions that are insistently critiqued in its literature.Against this backdrop, this book analyses how the idea of belonging - a sense of attachment to, and identification with, a place or people - is problematised in a range of contemporary francophone Mauritian novels.The island-nation's complex history and the multi-ethnic composition of its modern-day population mean that belonging is a central but fraught issue in both reality and fiction. Waters explores how diverse forms of affirmative, affective belonging intersect with, and are frequently inhibited by,exclusionary "politics of belonging" at communal, national or international levels. Using an eclectic theoretical approach to the central concept of belonging, Waters offers in-depth textual analyses of novels by leading Mauritian writers Nathacha Appanah, Ananda Devi, Shenaz Patel, Bertrand deRobillard, Amal Sewtohul and Carl de Souza. Despite their thematic and formal diversity, these novels are shown to be characterised by a common rejection of dominant discourses of ethnic, diasporic affiliation and by a common commitment to the ongoing, future-orientated project of Mauritiannationhood. As such, this book offers an original insight into the dynamics of belonging and exclusion in diverse, multi-ethnic societies.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
Literary Biography
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Île en île Île en île contient une riche documentation littéraire, présentant des centaines d'auteurs francophones des îles et de leur diaspora avec des dossiers approfondis : photos, biographies, bibliographies, entretiens et extraits de textes, souvent lus.
- Littérature maghrébine d'expression française Panorama général de la littérature maghrébine d'expression française, le présent ouvrage obéit à une logique géographique en présentant successivement les ensembles littéraires de l'Algérie, du Maroc et de la Tunisie. L'accent a été mis sur le développement et la cohérence des oeuvres : on a donc consacré à chaque écrivain déjà reconnu (de Kateb Yacine à Driss Chraïbi, de Mohammed Dib à Tahar Ben Jelloun, d'Albert Memmi à Rachid Mimouni...) un chapitre particulier constituant une véritable monographie de l'auteur. La préface, la conclusion et la postface (qui tient compte de l'évolution récente) permettent de replacer chacun de ces écrivains dans l'évolution plus générale de la littérature du Maghreb.
- Dictionnaire du roman populaire francophone byLocation: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ637.P68 D53 2007 )Publication Date: 2007
- Dictionnaire des écrivains francophones classiques : Afrique subsaharienne, Caraïbe, Maghreb, Machrek, Océan Indien byLocation: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ3897 .C3 2010 )Publication Date: 2010
Postcolonial Francophone Autobiographies: From Africa to the Antilles by
Bringing a comparative perspective to the study of autobiography, Edgard Sankara considers a cross-section of postcolonial francophone writing from Africa and the Caribbean in order to examine and compare for the first time their transnational reception. Sankara not only compares the ways in which a wide selection of autobiographies were received locally (as well as in France) but also juxtaposes reception by the colonized and the colonizer to show how different meanings were assigned to the works after publication. Sankara's geographical and cultural coverage of Africa and its diaspora is rich, with separate chapters devoted to the autobiographies of Hamp#65533;t#65533; B#65533;, Valentin Mudimb#65533;, Kesso Barry, Patrick Chamoiseau, Rapha#65533;l Confiant, and Maryse Cond#65533;. The author combines close reading, reception study, and postcolonial theory to present an insightful survey of the literary connections among these autobiographers as well as a useful point of departure for further exploration of the genre itself, of the role of reception studies in postcolonial criticism, and of the stance that postcolonial francophone writers choose to take regarding their communities of origin. Modern Language Initiative
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ3897 .S26 2011 and OnlinePublication Date: 2011
African Writers by
The Scribner Writers Series has set the standard for literary reference for more than 25 years. In addition to addressing the lives and careers of important writers, the articles discuss the themes and styles of major works and place them in pertinent historical, social and political contexts for today's readers. Novelists, playwrights, essayists, poets, short story writers, and more recently, genre writers in science fiction and mystery, are all expertly discussed in the more than 16 sets comprising this series. Two volumes of original essays present 65 African writers from 17 countries writing in English, French, Portuguese, Arabic and indigenous languages. Subjects span the late 19th century to the present. Included are Najib Mahfuz, Andre Brink, Wole Soyinka, Nadine Gordimer, Alan Paton and many more.
Location: African Studies Library Reference PL8010 .A453 1997Publication Date: 1996-12-30
Against the Postcolonial: "Francophone" Writers at the Ends of French Empire by
Richard Serrano begins his provocative new work Against the Postcolonial with the bold statement that OFrancophone studies is mostly a mirage, while postcolonial studies is mostly a delusion.O He argues that many attempts to use postcoloniality to account for francophone writers tell us more about the criticsO assumptions than about the writersO works. Furthermore, he asserts that postcolonial studies, with its antecedents as an Anglophone Indian project that emerged in response to the weakening British Raj, is but one sort of narrative of colonialism into which writers of French expression do not neatly fit. In an insightful exploration of the work of five writers from lands formerly or currently ruled by France_Algeria, Cambodia, Guiana, Madagascar, and Mali_Serrano demonstrates the rewards of research that engages in textual analysis within its historical and literary context. He deftly argues against the relevance of a homogenizing critical practice; considering these writers Opostcolonial, O he claims, is to misunderstand their aesthetic strategies for survival in the face of French colonialism and modernism. Scholars of Francophone literature, postcolonial studies, and world literature will relish SerranoOs lively invitation to debate and masterful analysis of five brilliant artists.
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ3897 .S47 2005Publication Date: 2005
Francophone Women Writers: Feminisms, Postcolonialisms, Cross-Cultures by
This anthology seeks to introduce women writers in the "global" Francophone world by investigating the place of feminist, postcolonial and cross-cultural theories in interpreting women francophone literature. The book also allows the reader to examine the extent to which women writers reflect or negate the conventional archetypes of Francophone literature, how they reinvent the political, cultural and critical discourse of their time and place, and create their own identity from objectification to subjectivity.The ambition of this anthology is to explore these themes at a time when globalization is redefining the concepts of language, identity, space and history, and transforming the rapport of each individual to the "other". While most research on the subject focus on specific countries or regions, this volume offers a new critical introduction to Francophone women authors from a broad geographical range in North and West Africa, the Near East, the Pacific, North America, the Caribbean Islands and Europe. Significantly, this study assembles a broad and representative collection of texts written by women authors that will generate a fruitful and critical reflection among students and scholars. The selected texts present critical issues that students and readers at large need to explore to further their knowledge of francophone literature and culture.
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ149 .T68 2011Publication Date: 2011
Connecting Histories : Francophone Caribbean writers interrogating their past by
The Francophone Caribbean boasts a trove of literary gems. Distinguished by innovative, elegant writing and thought-provoking questions of history and identity, this exciting body of work demands scholarly attention. Its authors treat the traumatic legacies of shared and personal histories pervading Caribbean experience in striking ways, delineating a path towards reconciliation and healing. The creation of diverse personal narratives--encompassing autobiography, autofiction (heavily autobiographical fiction), travel writing, and reflective essay--remains characteristic of many Caribbean writers and offers poignant illustrations of the complex interchange between shared and personal pasts and how they affect individual lives. Through their historically informed autobiography, the authors in this study--Maryse Condé, Gisèle Pineau, Patrick Chamoiseau, Edwidge Danticat, and Dany Laferrière--offer compelling insights into confronting, coming to terms with, and reconciling their past. The employment of personal narratives as the vehicle to carry out this investigation points to a tension evident in these writers' reflections, which constantly move between the collective and the personal. As an inescapably complex network, their past extends beyond the notion of a single, private life. These contemporary authors from Martinique, Guadeloupe, and Haiti intertwine their personal memories with reflections on the histories of their homelands and on the European and North American countries they adopt through choice or necessity. They reveal a multitude of deep connections that illuminate distinct Francophone Caribbean experiences.
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ3940 .T56 2017Publication Date: 2017
