Highlighted Articles:
- Oceanobs'19: An Ocean of Opportunity 136 articles from the OceanObs’19 Conference. The OceanObs conferences are held once every ten years for the scientific, technical, and operational communities involved in the planning, implementation, and use of ocean observing systems. The goal of the conferences is to communicate progress, promote plans, and to define advances to ocean observing system in response to societies’ needs.
- Ocean Optimism: Moving Beyond the Obituaries in Marine Conservation by Nancy Knowlton. Annual Review of Marine Science (posted online June 5, 2020) "While the ocean has suffered many losses, there is increasing evidence that important progress is being made in marine conservation. Examples include striking recoveries of once-threatened species, increasing rates of protection of marine habitats, more sustainably managed fisheries and aquaculture, reductions in some forms of pollution, accelerating restoration of degraded habitats, and use of the ocean and its habitats to sequester carbon and provide clean energy. Many of these achievements have multiple benefits, including improved human well-being"
Find journal articles
Finding Articles
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary science database designed for students and non-specialists. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health, medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology. Covers leading journals and magazines, biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, and special issues of journals. Also covers the New York Times Science Section and cites book reviews. Date coverage: abstracts 1984 - present, selected full text 1995 - present.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, business, literature, and other subjects. Date coverage and full text availability vary by publication.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new window Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, also known as ASFA, is one of the premier marine and aquatic sciences databases. ASFA covers all aspects of marine and aquatic sciences, as well as oceanography, climate, and environmental, political, and socioeconomic issues related to freshwater and oceanic ecosystems, fisheries, and aquaculture. ASFA also allows you to search directly for tables, graphs, maps, and images included in the scholarly literature. Date coverage: 1971 - present.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Environment Complete is a comprehensive database focused on all aspects of environmental science including conservation, biodiversity, climate, pollution, agriculture and aquaculture, environmental law and policy, urban planning, environmental engineering, and more. Date coverage: 1940 - present with selected full text from 1975 - present.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE searches journal articles, government documents, and ebooks relating to human impact on the environment. It covers interdisciplinary topics such as environmental policy, environmental engineering, pollution, conservation, and other areas in which human activities and nature coincide. GreenFILE also contains a cited references feature that allows the user to see what material the author has cited in their publication, and what later publications cite it. Date coverage: varies by publication.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Biological Abstracts searches journal articles in all areas of the biological sciences. Like all databases on the Web of Science platform, it also provides citation information — both articles cited and 'cited by' links, allowing the user to follow the literature on a topic both forward and backward in time. Allows searching using BIOSIS indexing, MeSH terms, and CAS registry numbers as well as the more traditional search terms. Date coverage: 1989 - present.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window A product of the nonprofit organization BioOne, the BioOne Complete database covers more than 200 full text, subscribed and open-access journals focusing on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. About half of the journals included are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers and are exclusive to the BioOne database. Date range: 1960s to present.
