Searching tips
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new windowUse Advanced Search
Limit search to articles.
Use "Exact Phrase"
Samuel Shrimpton AND portrait
- America: History & Life (AHL) This link opens in a new windowJohn Josselyn AND rarities
Samuel Shrimpton
william hubbard - ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window An index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Date coverage: 1908 - present with some older items.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window Digitized images of American magazines published between 1684 and 1912. Covers history of slavery, literature, women's and religious issues, politics, culture, the arts and foreign language journals published in the U.S. Rights for use by Boston University community supported by the Boston University Humanities Library Endowed Fund.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Date coverage: 1920s - present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window"Glorious progress of the gospel" AND "john eliot"
((New-Englands rarities discovered in birds, beasts, ) AND ("John Josselyn")) - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides access to academic literature from many disciplines. The sources include articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions and come from diverse places including academic publishers, online repositories and other websites.
Note
O’Toole, Marjory. “Steve Lubar Ruins Everything: Why Historical Societies Need Experts, Even When It Hurts.” History News, vol. 72, no. 3, Summer 2017, pp. 12–15. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ahl&AN=125930271&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles not available in BUL ejournals. Articles in BUL print journals also should be requested using the ILL form.
Finding Journal Articles in HathiTrust
- Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window Hathi Trust is a collection of millions of volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents, including many public domain materials available as full-text online. To take advantage of BU's membership in Hathi Trust which allows full volume download of public domain items, go directly to the HathiTrust website. Click the Login button. Select Boston University from the drop-down list. Then enter your BU username and password in the next screen.
Access HathiTrust Digital Library database from BULS or Databases A-Z.
- Log In (upper right): Choose partner institution Boston University and click Continue.
- Log In: BU login.
- Search HathiTrust: name of journal (Artnews).
- Scroll down to Artnews results and look for the publication year you want OR
- Filter (left side) to Date of Publication and click on date or date range.
- Click Temporary Access.
- Check out (upper right).
- Search in this text (upper right): to get to your article, type a word or words in quotation marks ("public art") in the article title.
- Click the page number link (there may be several pages).
- Return Early or Check In the book (top upper right) to enable someone else to access it.
- LOG OUT (top upper)
