Distribution Channels and ACV
- Industry Survey LocatorOrganized by library staff to help find Industry Overviews and Trends. See the following sources for distribution and supply chain information:
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collection of Industry reports organized by NAICS code. Reports include competitive landscape, supply chain, statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry. Includes U.S. Specialized Industry Reports and Global Industry Reports.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window NetAdvantage (S&P Global) provides web based access to S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Company Profiles, Stock Reports and Sub-Industry Reviews. Each S&P Industry Survey includes current trends, how the industry operates, downloadable company data and links to industry trade associations.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window In-depth company information and financials for international public companies. Allows you to export financials into Excel and create company comparisons using ratios and other financial metrics. Good source for annual reports and company 10K’s. Provides access to research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms. Click on the Investext tab to access the analyst reports.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window Current and historical directories of U.S. businesses and consumers. Search businesses by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, revenue, location, number of employees and more. Also includes job and internship listings.
- Retail Business Market Research Handbook 2019-2020Location: OnlineRetail business market research handbook by RK Miller includes information and statistics from a variety of sources.
Freight and Shipping
- A-Z Worldwide Airfreight DirectoryAlso includes Cargo Agents/Freight Forwarders Associations.
- Freightquote.comInstant quotes from a variety of well-known carriers.
- Trans-Directory.comWorldwide directory of transportation and related providers.
Retail and Wholesale Industry
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collection of Industry reports organized by NAICS code. Reports include competitive landscape, supply chain, statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry. Includes U.S. Specialized Industry Reports and Global Industry Reports.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window NetAdvantage (S&P Global) provides web based access to S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Company Profiles, Stock Reports and Sub-Industry Reviews. Each S&P Industry Survey includes current trends, how the industry operates, downloadable company data and links to industry trade associations.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window Current and historical directories of U.S. businesses and consumers. Search businesses by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, revenue, location, number of employees and more. Also includes job and internship listings.
You can also navigate to the Marketing Research Guide specifically the eCommerce and Internet Marketing section.
Retail Statistics and Sales
- Bizstats.comFinancial ratios, business statistics and benchmarks.
- Retail & Wholesale TradeThe latest statistics from the U.S. Census bureau.
- Retail Owners InstituteSee top toolbar for information on 50 retail segments. Includes “gross profit” among other statistics and ratios for different types of stores.
- Retail Business Market Research Handbook 2019-2020Location: OnlineRetail business market research handbook by RK Miller includes information and statistics from a variety of sources.
Manufacturers Reps
- Association of Independent Manufacturers’/Representatives A trade association for manufacturer’s representatives. In addition to the usual newsletters and press releases, they have two directories. One is just a long list of “Members Online.” The other is a cross-reference of manufacturers and their representatives. If a student is “in the market” for a representative, they may be able to find a relevant manufacturer in this list and see what reps that manufacturer is using.
- Manufacturers’ Agents National Association Another trade association for manufacturer’s reps, but this deals with more kinds of products (not just industrial). Includes a page about the advantages of using manufacturers’ agents which, despite its obvious bias, may be helpful to 323 students who are considering outsourcing their sales force.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window Current and historical directories of U.S. businesses and consumers. Search businesses by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, revenue, location, number of employees and more. Also includes job and internship listings.
Information Technology
- InformationWeekArticles include IT information on individual companies. Check Boston University’s Electronic Journals to see if this title is available full text.
- CIOCIO is an online magazine for the IT professional. Check Boston University’s Electronic Journals to see if this title is available full text.
- ComputerworldComputerworld is the “voice of IT management.” Check Boston University’s Electronic Journals to see if this title is available full text.
