Related Guides
Background Sources
- A Companion to Popular Culture A Companion to Popular Culture is a landmark survey of contemporary research in popular culture studies that offers a comprehensive and engaging introduction to the field. Includes over two dozen essays covering the spectrum of popular culture studies from food to folklore and from TV to technology.
- Encyclopedia of Jewish American Popular Culture This unique encyclopedia chronicles American Jewish popular culture, past and present in music, art, food, religion, literature, and more. Over 150 entries, written by scholars in the field, highlight topics ranging from animation and comics to Hollywood and pop psychology.
- Muslims and American Popular Culture Unfortunately, American mass media representations of Muslims--whether in news or entertainment--are typically negative and one-dimensional. As a result, Muslims are frequently viewed negatively by those with minimal knowledge of Islam in America. This accessible two-volume work will help readers to construct an accurate framework for understanding the presence and depictions of Muslims in American society.
- Concise Dictionary of Popular Culture Covers the theories, media forms, fads, celebrities and icons, genres, and terms of popular culture. From Afropop and Anime to Oprah Winfrey and the X-Files, the book provides more than just accessible definitions. Each of the more than 800 entries is cross-referenced with other entries to highlight points of connection, a thematic index allows readers to see common elements between disparate ideas, and more than 70 black and white photos bring entries to life.
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture The entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance). The entries analyze each topic or person's significance in and relevance to American popular culture; in addition to basic factual information, readers will gain perspective on the cultural context in which the topic or person has importance.
- Geek heroines : an encyclopedia of female heroes in popular culture Carefully curated to incorporate LGBTQ+ identities as well as racial diversity, the book defines geek culture, explains geek culture's sometimes problematic nature, and provides detailed fiction and nonfiction biographies that highlight women in this area. Entries include writers and directors as well as characters from comic books, science fiction, speculative fiction, television, movies, and video games.
- Dictionary of Toys and Games in American Popular Culture Keep the information you need on playthings and pop culture at your fingertips! The Dictionary of Toys and Games in American Popular Culture is an A-to-Z reference guide to the playthings that amused us as children and fascinate us as adults.
- The Bloomsbury Handbook of Food and Popular Culture The influence of food has grown rapidly as it has become more and more intertwined with popular culture in recent decades. The Bloomsbury Handbook of Food and Popular Culture offers an authoritative, comprehensive overview of and introduction to this growing field of research.
- The Routledge Handbook of Popular Culture and Tourism This handbook provides a comprehensive overview and holistic analysis of the intersection between tourism and popular culture. It examines current debates, questions and controversies of tourism in the wake of popular culture phenomena and explores the relationships between popular culture, globalization, tourism and mobility. In addition, it offers a cross-disciplinary, cutting edge review of the character of popular cultural production and consumption trends, analyzing their consequences for tourism, spatial strategies and destination competitiveness.
- Handbook of Material Culture The Handbook of Material Culture provides a critical survey of the theories, concepts, intellectual debates, substantive domains, and traditions of study characterizing the analysis of "things." This cutting-edge work examines the current state of material culture as well as how this field of study may be extended and developed in the future.
- The Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Media The Handbook of Gender, Sex and Media offers original insights into the complex set of relations which exist between gender, sex, sexualities and the media, and in doing so, showcases new research at the forefront of media and communication practice and theory.
- Star Struck : An Encyclopedia of Celebrity Culture his encyclopedia covers American celebrity culture from 1950 to 2008, examining its various aspects--and its impact--through 86 entries by 30 expert contributors.
- Handbook of Research on Consumption, Media, and Popular Culture in the Global Age The Handbook of Research on Consumption, Media, and Popular Culture in the Global Age discusses interdisciplinary perspectives on media influence and consumer impacts in a globalizing world due to modern communication technology.
- A Companion to Media Fandom and Fan Studies Separated into five sections--Histories, Genealogies, Methodologies; Fan Practices; Fandom and Cultural Studies; Digital Fandom; and The Future of Fan Studies--the book synthesizes literature surrounding important theories, debates, and issues within the field of fan studies. It also traces and explains the social, historical, political, commercial, ethical, and creative dimensions of fandom and fan studies.
