Related Guides
Background Sources
- Human Population Genomics: Introduction to Essential Concepts and Applications This new textbook aims to serve as a gateway to modern human population genetics research for those new to the field. It provides an indispensable resource for students, researchers and practitioners from disparate areas of expertise.
- A Companion to Anthropological Genetics A Companion to Anthropological Genetics illustrates the role of genetic analysis in advancing the modern study of human origins, populations, evolution, and diversity. Broad in scope, this essential reference work establishes and explores the relationship between genetic research and the major questions of anthropological study.
- A Companion to Biological Anthropology An extensive overview of the rapidly growing field of biological anthropology. Offers discussions of current issues, controversies, and future directions within the area. Presents coverage of the many recent innovations and discoveries that are transforming the subject.
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution This is an introduction to the human species that places modern humans squarely in evolutionary perspective and treats evolution itself as a continuing genetic process in which every one of us is involved. Over seventy scholars worldwide have collaborated on the Encyclopedia, which is divided into ten main sections.
- Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory The Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory provides the most complete context possible for understanding the 65-million-year story of humankind's origins. The Encyclopedia gathers the work of 49 internationally recognized scholars, each a leading authority writing under the guidance of a distinguished team of editors from the American Museum of Natural History. They have prepared over 800 entries, ranging from brief definitions of technical terms to in depth, lengthy essays on broad topics such as evolutionary theory, genetics and Paleolithic archaeology.
- History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia Contains biographies and articles contributed by "an international group of scholars and specialists" on the history of physical anthropology. "Entries include primary and secondary sources and, where applicable, location of archival materials."
- Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology This reference dictionary takes a new approach to the study of physical anthropology by focusing on the concepts involved. As Stevenson notes at the outset, physical or biological anthropology is a synthetic discipline which has borrowed much from evolutionary biology, anatomy, genetics, medicine, zoology, paleontology, and demography. Thus, although none of the concepts are unique to the discipline, their relative importance and the contexts in which they are used may be. Here, Stevenson presents concise entries describing the development of physical anthropological concepts followed by bibliographies including most of the major works in the field.
- A Companion to Dental Anthropology Companion to Dental Anthropology presents a collection of original readings addressing all aspects and sub-disciplines of the field of dental anthropology—from its origins and evolution through to the latest scientific research.
- Handbook of Nutrition, Diet, and Epigenetics This multivolume reference work addresses the fact that the well being of humankind is predicated not only on individuals receiving adequate nutrition but also on their genetic makeup. The work includes more than 100 chapters organized in the following major sections: Introduction and Overview; Epigenetics of Organs and Diseases in Relation to Diet and Nutrition; Detailed Processes in Epigenetics of Diet and Nutrition; Modulating Epigenetics with Diet and Nutrition; and Practical Techniques.
- Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms The Talking Glossary features more than 250 common genetic terms pronounced and explained in an easy-to-understand way by leading scientists and professionals at the National Human Genome Research Institute. In addition to definitions, specialists in the field of genetics share their descriptions of terms, and many terms include images, animation and links to related terms.
- Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Informatics It covers the basics and the latest in genomics, proteomics, genetic engineering, small RNAs, transcription factories, chromosome territories, stem cells, genetic networks, epigenetics, prions, hereditary diseases, patents, etc.
- A Companion to Genethics A Companion to Genethics is the first substantial study of the multifaceted dimensions of the genetic revolution and its philosophical, ethical, social and political significance. Brings together the best and most influential writing about the ethics of genetics; Includes 33 newly-commissioned essays, all written by prominent figures in the field; Shows how there is scarcely a part of our lives left unaffected by the impact of the new genetics.
- Encyclopedia of Evolution A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies. Readers will find brief treatments on discrete concepts and individuals to illuminating lengthy essays by towering figures in the field. Topics include: Darwin, natural selection, human origins, behavioral ecology, diversity, mathematical models, and cell and developmental biology
