Skip to Main Content
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
Online Art Galleries, The Kinsey Institute
The Kinsey Institute's online galleries showcase selected works from our archives, as well as exhibitions making their way across the country on the traveling circuit.
The Gender Spectrum Collection
The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives.
Creative Commons Image Search
Use this prototype to find images that you can use and remix across several open archives.
LIFE Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
Crash Course Sociology: Sex & Sexuality (Streaming, Academic Video Online)
While sociology is a social science, we can use it to explore some intensely personal, private things. Today we'll explore what sociology can tell us about sex and sexuality. We'll also see what the three sociological paradigms have to say about sexuality and sexual orientations.
(A)sexual (streaming, Academic Video Online)
This groundbreaking film introduces viewers to men and women who have never experienced sexual attraction.
Pride denied Homonationalism and the future of queer politics (streaming, Kanopy))
Pride Denied tells the story of how corporate sponsors coopted the concept of LGBTQ pride, turning it into a feel-good brand and blunting its radical political edge.
History of sex. 20th century (streaming, Academic Video Online)
This special focuses on the 20th century's myriad innovations and movements--especially those of a sexual nature. Women in the workplace, the automobile and the motion picture are all integral parts of the early sexual revolution.
The Dickumentary (streaming, Academic Video Online)
The story of the penis from its biological evolution in prehistoric fish, to today. Cultures have worshipped it, circumcised it & sought ways to make it larger. Traveling across 14 countries, this is an entertaining, comprehensive tour de phallus.
60 Minutes: Sexuality 101 (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Mike Wallace's 1998 report on the controversy over college courses about sexual identity, sexual ambiguity, sexual fantasy, and gay history.
o.com cybersex addiction (streaming, Academic Video Online)
This startling documentary reveals how the internet contributes to alienation, especially in the area of human sexuality. In North America alone, more than 8 million people pursue sex online at least 11 hours a week.
Two Spirits (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Two Spirits interweaves the tragic story of a mother's loss of her son with a revealing look at the largely unknown history of a time when the world wasn't simply divided into male and female and many Native American cultures held places of honor for people of integrated genders.
99% woman (streaming, Academic Video Online)
n October, 1998, forty-five year old Benjy Nelson - former high school athlete and United States Air Force airman - had a sex-change operation. During his air force career, he began to dress as a woman - first at home, and then in public. For the last five years before his operation, Benjy dressed as a woman full-time. However, Benjy was a family man. His wife Debbie, appears to have been totally supportive of his decision to have a sex change operation and become Bridget. Their three sons, however, a fourteen year old and twelve-year old identical twins, did not take easily to having their father become a tall blonde with stiletto heels and an almost comic sense of the female. Confused and angry, they start getting into trouble. The film finds no easy answers as it sets the freedom of individual choice against family well being.
The Purity Myth: The Virginity Movement's War on Women (streaming, Kanopy)
"The virginity movement" is an unholy alliance of evangelical Christians, right-wing politicians, and conservative policy intellectuals exploiting irrational fears about women's sexuality to roll back women's rights. Includes dad-and-daughter "purity balls," taxpayer-funded abstinence-only curricula, political attacks on Planned Parenthood, and recent attempts by legislators to de-fund women's reproductive health care and narrow the legal definition of rape.
Sex, teens and public schools (streaming, Academic Video oNline)
The United States has the dubious distinction of having the highest adolescent pregnancy, abortion, and birth rates in the developed world. Every minute in America, another teenager becomes a mother, and 82% of the one million pregnancies experienced by American adolescents every year are unintended. Sex, Teens, and Public Schools explores the conditions that have led to escalating rates of teen pregnancy, illustrates the costs and consequences of this national epidemic, and most importantly, examines the role that public schools can play in stemming the tide of early and unwanted pregnancy.
A different kind of black man (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Interviews with successful, black gay men about their ideas and feelings on such issues as sexuality, masculinity and their perception of and their role within the black community.
Seventh-gay Adventists (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Seventh-Gay Adventists follows three gay and lesbian individuals and their partners as they attempt to reconcile their Adventist identity with their sexuality. They express their struggles with coming out in a strongly religious community and recount their failed attempts to ""become straight"" before coming to terms with their homosexuality.
Sex Machines: Love In The Age Of Robots (Hidden Brain, NPR)
This week on Hidden Brain, we reflect on the narrowing gap between humans and machines. What are the possibilities for deep, intimate relationships with artificial lovers? And does it help if those lovers are beautifully designed to look like human beings, and have the faint glow of empathy and intelligence?
Mechanical Sex: The Relationship Between Intercourse And Intimacy (Hidden Brain, NPR)
This week on the Hidden Brain radio show, we explore complicated stories about intimacy. In the first half of the program, we speak with Lisa Wade about hookup culture. Computer scientist Kate Devlin joins us later in the show to talk about sex toys.
Hookup Culture: The Unspoken Rules Of Sex On College Campuses (Hidden Brain, NPR)
In this February 2017 episode, Lisa Wade talked with us about hookup culture and the complex rules surrounding casual sex on American college campuses.
The Spectrum: An Introduction to Sex and Gender (The Social Breakdown)
Gender and sex - they appear to be the same thing, but in reality they aren’t! This week we dive into the differences between gender and sex through the lense of sociology using work from Judith Butler, Simone de Beauvoir and other recent research. How have our notions of gender and sex changed over the years? Where are these two concepts headed? And how do our own identities influence the way we behave, feel, and think?