Skip to Main Content
Animal Diversity Web
Searchable encyclopedia of animal natural history, distribution, classification. Sponsored by the University of Michigan.
National Ocean Service: Ocean Life (NOAA)
Ocean facts (including about animals) from NOAA.
A Dictionary of Zoology (5th ed.)
This best-selling dictionary covers all aspects of zoology, including terms from ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics, and physiology. It provides taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals, all fully updated to include recent changes.
A Research Agenda for Animal Geographies
Exploring the innovative and thriving field of animal geographies, this Research Agenda analyses how humans think about, place, and engage with animals. Chapters explore how animals shape human identities and social dynamics, as well as how broader processes influence the circumstances and experiences of animals.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia is a large comprehensive encyclopedia of animal life.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior
This comprehensive work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.
The Oxford Handbook of Animal Ethics
Humans encounter and use animals in a stunning number of ways. The nature of these animals and the justifiability or unjustifiabilitly of human uses of them are the subject matter of this volume.
The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters
From vampires and demons to ghosts and zombies, interest in monsters in literature, film, and popular culture has never been stronger. This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages
The Routledge Companion to the Environmental Humanities
Topics include the Anthropocene and the domestication of Earth and posthumanism and multispecies communities.
Superheroes and gods : a comparative study from Babylonia to Batman
Each of the first nine chapters examines the heroes and gods of a particular region or country, while the final chapter examines modern descendants of the hero prototype (i.e. Batman and Spiderman) and several infamous anti-heroes (i.e. Dracula and The Hulk)
Animal Diversity Web: Homo Sapiens
Anthropology/Sociology & interim Philosophy Librarian