Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- AskART Academic This link opens in a new windowAskART Academic is a database of information about artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, and some biographical details.
Museum Websites
There are many more museums with online image collections, but the museums here have been selected for their significant collections of open access or public domain images.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art - Online CollectionFind images of more than 490,000 artworks in the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection, including over 406,000 high resolution public domain images.
- Art Institute of ChicagoAccess hundreds of thousands of images of art from around the world, with a particularly strong collection of paintings. To see open access images, click on "show filters," then on "Public domain."
- Cleveland Museum of ArtWith over 60,000 works of art, the Cleveland Museum of Art has an especially strong collections in Asian and Egyptian art.
- Victoria & Albert MuseumExplore thousands of images from the world's largest museum of applied arts, decorative arts, and design, including furniture, clothing, musical instruments, and much more.
- Belvedere MuseumThe Österreichische Galerie Belvedere features many images from their collection, which features Gustav Klimt, Egon Schiele, and many French Impressionist paintings.
- Harvard Art MseumsBrowse the collections for Islamic art, Persian art, manuscripts, and more.
- J. Paul Getty Museum, Los AngelesThe Getty Museum's collection focuses on pre-20th century and ancient art of all kinds, as well as photography from its origins to contemporary works.
- Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA), Los AngelesLACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection of more than 147,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe. Committed to showcasing a multitude of art histories, LACMA exhibits and interprets works of art from new and unexpected points of view that are informed by the region’s rich cultural heritage and diverse population.
- Mauritshuis, The HagueAn extension collection of Dutch Golden Age paintings, including Vermeer, Rembrandt, and Hans Holbein the Younger.
- Mia - Minneapolis Institute of ArtThe Minneapolis Institute of Art is one of the largest art museums in the United States, and among many other items features a particularly strong collection of Asian art.
- National Gallery of Art - Washington DCThe National Gallery of Art's collections includes European and American works of art dating back to the medieval period, with many Renaissance, early modern, and 19th century paintings.
- Les Musées de la Ville de ParisA searchable database of images from multiple Paris museums, including the Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris and Carnavalet Museum of the History of Paris.
- RijksmuseumThe Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam is the premier museum of Dutch art, covering works from 1200 to 2000.
- Yale University Art GalleryYale University's Art Gallery specializes in Italian Renaissance painting, African sculpture, and modern art.
