Related Guides
Background Sources
- Encyclopedia of Women's Health The Encyclopedia of Women's Health meets this challenge by bringing together an impressive array of experts on topics from reproductive issues to gastrointestinal illnesses. This skilfully edited volume, informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
- Handbook on Gender and Health This Handbook brings together a groundbreaking collection of chapters that uses a gender lens to explore health, healthcare and health policy in both the Global South and North. Empirical evidence is drawn from a variety of different settings and points to the many ways in which the gendered dimensions of health have become reworked across the globe.
- Eating Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Treatment, and Prevention This indispensable resource thoroughly examines the complex subject of eating disorders, particularly the sociocultural, psychological, and nutritional aspects of eating disorders and body image. Eating Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Treatment, and Prevention explores the definitions, risk factors, symptoms, and health consequences of such illnesses as anorexia, bulimia, and binge eating.
- Encyclopedia of Gender and Society The Encyclopedia of Gender and Society covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
- The Oxford Handbook of Reproductive Ethics Reproductive ethics poses many of the most controversial issues of our time. Questions about the roles, rights, and responsibilities of parents force us to think about individual autonomy, the nature of the family, and relationships between private institutions and the state. And reproduction is not only about procreators but raises deeply divisive issues about gametes, embryos, fetal issue, and the moral status of the fetus or newborn child. This volume boldly addresses these and other issues, grounding their treatment in careful and reasoned philosophical analysis.
- Guttmacher Institute Social conservatives now control the White House, Congress and most state governments, and their actions could put sexual and reproductive health and rights at grave risk, both in the United States and across the globe. The Guttmacher Institute is examining the dangers ahead and the potentially devastating consequences for women and their families.
- Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women 's Reproductive Rights in the United. States. 2002. Arranged alphabetically by topic, articles representing racial and ethnic groups' experiences figure prominently, as do the effects of age, class, education, health, religion, and sexual preference on childbearing and -rearing practices, in and out of wedlock. It also includes articles on laws, court cases, political attitudes, prominent activists, and technological advances as they relate to reproductive rights.
- Encyclopedia of Adolescence The second edition of this encyclopedia continues to break new ground as an important resource for the study of adolescence. Comprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the second edition – with entries presented in easy-to-access A to Z format – serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new research and knowledge.
- Abortion in the United States : a Reference Handbook This work offers an eye-opening look at the enduring cultural clash between reproductive rights activists, who have argued that access to safe, legal abortion is critical for ensuring women's equality, and impassioned activists seeking to overturn Roe v. Wade, who fervently believe that abortion is unethical. Written for high school and college students as well as for general audiences seeking to better understand opposing viewpoints, it gives readers essential background information and addresses persistent questions regarding the abortion debate. The new Perspectives chapter features the compelling voices of those engaged in the front lines of this battle alongside those of scholars from a range of disciplinary perspectives.
- Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health Americans are living longer, and the elder population is growing larger. To meet the ongoing need for quality information on elder health, the Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health combines multiple perspectives to offer readers a more accurate and complete picture of the aging process.
- Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence The Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence is a modern reference from the leading international scholars in domestic violence research. This ground-breaking project has created the first ever publication of an encyclopedia of domestic violence. The primary goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon.
- The Oxford Handbook of Public Health Ethics This handbook is currently in development, with individual articles publishing online in advance of print publication.
