Skip to main content

Open & Affordable Educational Resources

Graphic of textbook "Free the textbook"What are open educational resources?

Open Educational Resources are educational materials--such as courses, assignments, syllabi, and textbooks--that are open for anyone to use and, depending on the license, to re-mix, improve, and redistribute.

Image created by Libby Levi for opensource.com and used under CC-BY license.

General Resources

You can find all types of OERs on the following sites:

  • Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets: Curated collections of primary sources with links to related resources and teaching guides, created and reviewed by the DPLA's Education Advisory Committee.
  • Multimedia Educational Resource for Online Teaching: Collection of open learning materials and course content, maintained by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning.
  • OER Commons: Digital library and collaboration platform for OERs, created by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education.
  • Open Course Library: Collection of open syllabi, course activities, and assessments sponsored by the Washington State Board of Education. All materials have been tested for accessibility and assessed for quality.
  • Open Learning Initiative: Carnegie Mellon University's site for open courses and course materials.
  • SHARE: Database of research and scholarly activities and outputs--including articles, posters, presentations, data, reports, and more--coordinated by the Association of Research Libraries and the Open Science Foundation.
  • Teaching Commons: OERs created by colleges and universities and stored in the Digital Commons platform.

Open Books & Textbooks

Open Textbook Catalogs

The sites listed below collect links to open textbooks from a variety of sources.

Open Textbook Collections

The sites below are collections of open textbooks created by open education publishers.

Open E-books

The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) contains almost 9000 books and book chapters that are freely available. You can search the DOAB in the BU Library Search, where you'll also be able to find additional e-book collections to which the BU Libraries has access.

Our research guide to e-books includes a page on open e-books, with links to smaller, more specialized databases of open e-books.

BU LIbraries

Guide Authors

Barbara Maratos
Literature & Languages Librarian
bkmarato@bu.edu

Anna Newman
Open Access Specialist
newmanaa@bu.edu