The School of Theology Library owns approximately 200,000 volumes of materials related to theology, its subdisciplines, and related topics, in order to support the curricula and research of the School of Theology.
Global Christianity and Missiology
In collaboration with faculty at the School's Center for Global Christianity and Mission, the School of Theology has also amassed a considerable collection of missions-related materials, including nearly 7,000 physical volumes and nearly 3,500 e-books related to missiology. In addition, the library has a sizable collection of microform materials related to missions history. An example of a collaborative digital project between the center and the library's research collections is the History of Missiology website.
The library provides access to nearly 25,000 titles (over 17,000 physical volumes) in the discipline of Practical Theology, ranging from ministry, church growth, homiletics and worship, to hymnology. These titles were acquired to support the research of faculty and doctoral students affiliated with the School's Center for Practical Theology, as well as our online Doctor of Ministry program. They provide practical knowledge for ordination candidates in the pastoral ministry track and students in the chaplaincy track of the Master of Divinity program.
As the founding school of Boston University and with a rich history of affiliation with the United Methodist Church, our Methodist holdings include nearly 8,000 physical volumes and access to over 1,500 e-books related to Methodist history and Methodism. We are home to the New England Conference archives, which includes church records, and archived records of conference boards and agencies, along with Methodist-related social and service organization records.
Some of our other unique general collections, including the A. David Lewis Religion and Graphica Collection and Power, Privilege, and Prophetic Witness (which began with the class gift from the Class of 2016) are available among our circulating collections.