B.U. Library catalog
Article Databases
History Databases
- America: History & Life (AHL) This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English. Date coverage: 1949-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, provides comprehensive data on bibliographic and citation information. This database allows a researcher to identify which later articles have cited any particular earlier article, or have cited the articles of any particular author, or have been cited most frequently. Searches notable and significant journals across more than 25 disciplines. Date coverage: 1975 - present.
- Humanities Full Text / Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals. Date coverage: 1907 - present.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- HistoryMakers: African American Video Oral History Collection This link opens in a new windowHistoryMakers is a collection of video oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans. Transcripts are included with the interviews.
Key Journals & eJournals
African American periodicals are crucial sources for history research. The B.U. libraries own or have access to a large number of these journals in both print and online. Please note: Do not assume that all our journals are available online. The first link is a core journal in African American history; the next link displays the titles of a wide range of B.U. holdings.
Another important research source are American history journals. You can also search the historical and multidisciplinary databases listed above to find the content you want in the Journal of American History and the American Historical Review, along with material covering your initial search which have been published in other historical journals.
- African American PeriodicalsThis subject heading links to many B.U. journals covering a wide variety of topics in African-American history and culture.
