Skip to main content

Create Bibliographies

What is EndNote Basic?

EndNote Basic is a web-based bibliographic manager that includes a word processing plug-in for Microsoft Word.  It is popular with researchers that use academic databases to find information and want a bibliographic manager that they can access from any computer.  It is recommended for those familiar with the EndNote desktop software, but EndNote Basic (while free) has fewer features than RefWorks or the desktop version of EndNote.

Notable features of EndNote Basic include:

  • Importing large numbers of references from multiple databases (i.e. transferring them to your EndNote library)
  • Creating bibliographies in hundreds of citation styles
  • Inserting in-text citations and bibliographies into documents via the Cite While You Write plug-in for Word
  • Sharing your references with other EndNote users
  • Solicit suggestions for publication venues by using the Match manuscript uploader

The Boston University Libraries provide access and support for EndNote Basic, but not the desktop version of EndNote.  If you wish to purchase the desktop version, refer to BU's Information Services & Technology site for purchasing information.

Getting Started with EndNote Basic

If you already have an account with Web of Science, EndNote, or ResearcherID, you can use those credentials to sign in.  Otherwise, you can create a free account as a member of the BU community.  After you create an account, you will arrive at Project Neon, the hub for the Thomson Reuters products listed above.  To return to EndNote Basic, click the navigation icon in the upper left of the window.

Adding References to Your EndNote Basic Collection

Once your account is created, you can start sending references to your EndNote Basic collection.  There are several ways to do this:

  • Use the "Export to EndNote" or "Send" functions in a variety of databases platforms like EBSCOhost, JSTOR, and Google Scholar.  Depending on the database you're using, this function will appear in different places on your screen.  If you need help finding it, contact a librarian for assistance.
  • Some databases, like PubMed, export references as .txt or .ris files.  You can import references from these files using the Collect > Import References function in your EndNote Basic toolbar.  You can also use this option to import existing references from another reference manager like RefWorks or Zotero.
  • Use the Capture bookmarklet to import bibliographic data frpm your web browser window.  You can collect bibliographic information from an article on your screen, a video, or even a list of search results.
  • Add references to your collection manually.  Choose this option if you're working with an information source that you found offline (e.g. a print book, film, speech, etc.).  This option is found under Collect > New Reference in your EndNote Basic toolbar.

Citing with EndNote Basic

You can create standalone bibliographies and in-text citations with EndNote Basic.  Both options are located under Format in your EndNote Basic toolbar.

To create a standalone bibliography, follow these steps:

  1. Click Format in the EndNote Basic toolbar.
  2. Choose the folder that contains the references you want to use.
  3. Choose your citation style.
  4. Choose your file format (HTML is recommended for copy-and-pasting into a document).
  5. Click Save, unless you want to email or print the bibliography.

To cite sources within a Microsoft Word document, follow these steps:

  1. Click Format > Cite While You Write Plug-In.
  2. Install the plug-in.
  3. Open Microsoft Word.
  4. Place the cursor where you wish to insert a citation.
  5. Click EndNote > Insert Citations in the Word toolbar.
  6. Enter the keywords, author, or title of the source you want to cite.
  7. Choose the appropriate reference, and click Insert.  You can change your citation style using the drop-down menu in toolbar.

Note: Any sources you cite within your document in this way will automatically be added as bibliography items at the end of the document.

Profile

JD Kotula's picture
JD Kotula
Contact:
38 Cummington Mall
Boston, MA 02215
617.358.6900