Locate an Industry Overview
Industry Survey, Market Research and Analysts’ Reports.
Go to: Industry Survey Locator
The Industry Survey Locator, our in-house database by topic, is the simplest way of locating an industry survey either online through our databases or in print. These answer many of your questions: market segmentation, competitive landscape, forecasts and professional associations.
The Industry Survey Locator includes the following surveys:
MarketLine (Formely Datamonitor) Industry Profiles
Hoover’s Industry Snapshots
Mergent Industry Reports
Mintel
Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys
Value Line Investment Surveys
Industry News
Trade Journals and Trade Associations
Every industry has a variety of Trade Journals that write about that industry, as well as Trade Associations that operate for the benefit of industry members. Both are good sources for industry trends and statistics.
- Trade Journals are good sources of Industry News. The following databases index thousand of Business Magazines and Trade Journals:
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Date coverage varies by publication.
Industry Associations
Most industries are represented by one or more Trade Associations. Sometimes the Association website can contain industry reports, news, and statistics on your industry. To locate a Trade Association for your industry:
– Check at the end of an industry survey for your industry. You’ll often find relevant trade associations listed.
List Companies and Compare
Many of the Industry Overviews above include lists of Industry leaders and rankings. To find a more comprehensive list of companies by industry, use the following databases:
Go to: Company Dossier through Nexis Uni
Reminder: Locate the appropriate NAICS code and/or SIC code for your industry.
Annual Reports and 10Ks
For public company information a great source for company financials and strategy is the Company Annual Report and 10K filing. Both are available on Mergent Online.
This database will compare company against company using ratios and financial metrics, access company SEC filings like 10-k’s as well as annual reports and allows you to export financials into Excel.
Locate a SWOT analysis in a Marketline Company Profile
-Go to MarketLine Company Profiles through Business Source Complete SWOT analyses often included in reports (see index at left of report).
– To look only for a SWOT Analysis (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats), go to Business Source Complete, and select SWOT Analyses on the navigation bar on the right. Enter your company name.
Read a VAULT INDUSTRY GUIDE
FirstHand (formerly Vault)
See ‘Guides’ tab for premium Industry & Company Guides. See ‘Industries & Professions’ tab for information on a broad range of industries:
Accounting
Advertising
Biotechnology
Book Publishing
Capitol Hill
Consulting
Energy
Fashion
Human Resources
Investment Banking
Marketing & Brand Management
Pharmaceutical Sales and Marketing
Real Estate
Sales & Trading
Supply Chain Management
Technology
Venture Capital
