Skip to main content

African Newspapers

Online Newspapers: Egypt

  • al-Ahram [Arabic]
    Daily, national and political news. Semi-governmental. Widest circulating daily newspaper in Egypt. (Cairo).
  • Al-Ahram Weekly [English]
    National news from the Arab world in English. Archives from December 1999. (Cairo).
  • El Akhbar [Arabic]
    National news. Daily. Semi-official, owned by Egyptian Shoura council. (Cairo).
  • Almasry Alyoum [Arabic, English]
    Daily. Independent, with a reputation for objective reporting. (Cairo).
  • Arab Net 5 [Arabic]
    Internet portal. Aims to “promote positive thinking in the Arab world”. (Cairo).
  • El Badeel [Arabic]
    Daily, independent. Leftist. Political and national news.
  • El Bashayer [Arabic]
  • Cairo Live [English]
    News from international and Egyptian news outlets. (Cairo).
  • Egypt News [Arabic]
    News with links to Egyptian, world and business RSS feeds. (Bahrain).
  • Egypt Today [English]
    Magazine format. Current affairs. Monthly. (Cairo).
  • ERTU [Arabic]
    Daily. Official national broadcaster of radio and TV. General news.(Cairo).
  • El Fagr [Arabic]
    Serachable. Archives from April 2005. (Cairo).
  • Al-Gomhuriah [Arabic]
    National news. Daily. Past week in archives. (Cairo).
  • Hedayah [Arabic]
    Saudi online news. Searchable. Archive from 2004. (Riyadh).
  • Al Masry Al Youm [Arabic/English]
    Daily, independent. (Scottsdale, Az).
  • Al Mesryoon [Arabic]
    Daily, independent. (Cairo)
  • Al-Messa [Arabic]
    National news. Daily. (Cairo).
  • Middle East News Agency [Arabic/ English/ French]
    News and events carried by a well established news agency. (New York).
  • Al Nilin [Arabic]
    News portal. (Cairo, Riyadh, Khartoum).
  • El Osboa [Arabic]
    Daily, national and world news. (Cairo).
  • Shabab Misr [Arabic]
    Voice of the Egyptian Youth Party. Archives from 2009. (Cairo).
  • Al Shourouk [Arabic]
    News site with news feed from the printed edition. (Giza).
  • Watani [Arabic/English] Weekly. Independent, Coptic. (Cairo).
  • Al Wafd [Arabic]
    Daily, national news. Supports the opposition party (Wafd). (Cairo).
  • Yallakora [Arabic] Promotes and reports on football in Egypt and the Arab region. Searchable. (Cairo).
  • Al-Youm Al-Sabe’a [Arabic]
    Searchable. General news. (Cairo).

Head, African Studies Library

Beth Restrick's picture
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library

Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects:African Studies