New Books
Environmentally Sustainable Growth: A Pragmatic Approach by
How do we move away from the current environmentally destructive economic system toward one that is more sustainable while still ensuring continued economic growth? This book offers a positive vision of an environmentally sustainable future and lays out the steps ahead as we make the transition.Steven Cohen explores the causes of environmental degradation and examines what sustainability looks like in practice. He outlines realistic paths toward a renewable resource-based economy, demonstrating that, in many respects, the shift to sustainability is already underway. Cohen describes a range of public policy and infrastructure initiatives that can encourage cleaner production in the private sector and consumption in everyday life. He argues that the politics, advocacy, and communication around environmental protection must change to emphasize successes, reduce scare tactics, and make sure that the lifestyles and careers associated with a more sustainable world sound attractive to a wide range of people. The book depicts an appealing and equitable future that assures quality of life while protecting the planet.Environmentally Sustainable Growth brings together insights from many disciplines, spanning the latest scholarship and practical experience. Useful for students and courses, this book will be informative for practitioners, managers, analysts, activists, and scholars whose work incorporates environmental sustainability.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023
The Sun, Energy, and Climate Change by
The Sun, Energy, and Climate Change conveys one central idea - that we can utilize energy without continuing to harm the planet by increasing our reliance on energy from the sun. This accessible guide stresses the sun's importance as our ultimate energy source by focusing on climate change from an energy perspective and explains the naturally balanced energy transfer from the sun to the earth and society's consumption of this energy. This book is for anyone worried about environmental damage from our reliance on fossil fuels and the global fight against climate change. The key message being we do not have to accept the inevitable and can work to prevent the worst. Written for anyone who cares about climate change; Offers small steps we can take to fight environmental problems related to energy production and consumption; The book provides a concise introduction to energy systems and renewables.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023
The Crash Course: An Honest Approach to Facing the Future of Our Economy, Energy, and Environment by
Discover how and why the world's crises are interconnected and what you can do to prepare for the next one The world is experiencing a series of crises. In The Crash Course: An Honest Approach to Facing the Future of Our Economy, Energy, and Environment, Revised Edition, veteran executive and strategist Chris Martenson delivers an incisive and eye-opening exploration that explains why the reader needs to understand that it is the interconnectedness of the various crises that matters most. From energy shortages to climate instability, financial crises, supply chain disruptions, pandemics, war, and crop failures, you'll discover the common factor that is driving them all and how to adapt to volatile new realities and safeguard your own personal wealth, health, and community. In the book, you'll find effective solutions for living with unpredictability and change, as well as: A workable framework for understanding the "how" and "why" of dramatic societal, environmental, and economic transformation A rich set of solutions, complete with examples, you can use to draw inspiration and motivation to act in your own life An expansive amount of new material, fully updated since the last edition A transformative and thought-provoking strategic playbook for managing increasingly unexpected events, crises, and revolutions, The Crash Course, Revised Edition is an essential resource for anyone concerned about their retirement savings, the world's environment, as well as anyone hoping to become more independent and self-reliant.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023
Handbook of Business and Climate Change by
Summarizing the current state of knowledge on the links between business and climate change, this timely Handbook analyzes how businesses contribute to and are affected by climate change, looking closely at their centrality in developing and deploying solutions to address this problem. Contributions from a global collection of scholars and practitioners explore a broad range of key industries’ impacts and responses to climate change, examining corporate strategy and leadership in the climate economy, functional perspectives and corporate practice, and climate finance.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023
Books
Use BU Libraries Search, the large search box on the library page, to locate additional books.
Energy and Climate: A Vision for Our Future by
In 'Energy and Climate', Harvard atmospheric scientist Michael B. McElroy provides a broad and comprehensive introduction to the issue of energy and climate change intended to be accessible for the general reader.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Sustainable Leadership by
Wall Street Journal and Publishers Weekly Bestseller Deliver Extraordinary Sustainability Results for Your Business In Sustainable Leadership: Lessons of Vision, Courage, and Grit from the CEOs Who Dared to Build a Better World, accomplished leadership expert Clarke Murphy shares a can't-miss toolkit for delivering remarkable sustainability results. You'll learn what it takes to become a Sustainable Leader and how you can turn your sustainability promises into tangible action on the ground. Drawing on the real-life stories of Sustainable Leaders from across the world, Murphy proves that sustainability success is within reach for every business executive. He debunks the myth that sustainability is at odds with profitability and reveals the inside track on how to make sustainability your new growth strategy. You'll find: A step-by-step framework on how to build your Sustainable Leadership legacy. Pragmatic examples of balancing the demands of shareholders and other stakeholders. Lessons from CEOs on how they stayed the course in the face of setbacks. Strategies to prepare your up-and-coming executives to carry the sustainability mantle and help you hit your short and long-term sustainability goals. An essential blueprint for CEOs, boards, founders, entrepreneurs, and other business executives, Sustainable Leadership also deserves a place on the bookshelves of Chief Sustainability Officers and ESG professionals looking for immediately actionable approaches to increase the long-term viability of their organizations.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2022
Renewable Energy: Technologies and Applications by
This book discusses renewable energy resources and systems as well as energy efficiency. It contains twenty-three chapters over six sections that address a multitude of renewable energy types, including solar and photovoltaic, biomass, hydroelectric, and geothermal. The information presented herein is a scientific contribution to energy and environmental regulations, quality and efficiency of energy services, energy supply security, energy market-based approaches, government interventions, and the spread of technological innovation.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2021
Putting the Heart Back into Business: How to Place People, Planet, and Purpose at the Core of What You Do by
In this uniquely honest and ground-breaking book, entrepreneur Andrew Thornton and coach Eudora Pascall propose a better way of being in business - one that enables everyone to truly be themselves, harnesses people's strengths and individuality, and puts people and planet first - whilst trusting that profit will still follow.
With the inspiring story of the transformation that took place in a multicultural North London supermarket as a backdrop, Andrew and Eudora demonstrate the huge impact and positive difference that running a heart-centred business can make on the lives of the people you work with and the world you live in too.
Through a wealth of illuminating real-life stories, insightful case studies and a host of practical tips and expert guidance, you'll be empowered to start a journey of self-discovery that will help you:
Understand your purpose in life and business
Become a more authentic, caring leader
Address prejudice, inequality and division
Untie the knots the prevent progress
Approach life and business from an exciting new perspective
By discovering how to put the heart into your business you can turn problems into opportunity, build enduring strength and resilience, and take positive action against the huge challenges faced by both businesses and the world alike.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2022
Green Economy and Sustainable Development by
Today sustainable development is associated with increasing the responsibility of business,
governments and the entire society around the world for achieving a balance between current and
future needs for subsoils, energy, traditional and new materials, and transport. Such responsibility
equalizes environmental and social problems (poverty and malnutrition, inequalities in access to
wealth and income distribution), which often have common roots. This, in turn, highlights the
importance of interdisciplinary and multilateral research of sustainable development issues, the
results of which can answer the questions about green economy perspectives.
The green economy—the newest way to obtain and use resources—is a product of the Fourth
Industrial Revolution, and it concentrates many of the achievements of Industry 4.0. The related
structural shifts in the economy are caused by the emergence of new industries of waste recycling,
zero-emission energy production, absorption of greenhouse gases emissions, green urbanism, and
post-mining. These shifts should be summed up in a parallel increase in productivity and labor safety,
improved access to drinking water, food, energy, as well as in joining the efforts of national states and
businesses in the fight against climate change, in replacing minerals with renewable resources.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2022
Finding Articles and News
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new windowTo find articles in the BU Libraries Search, type keywords in search box. Then modify results by using limiters in left column under "refine my results". The BULS searches materials in different formats across many subjects.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Date coverage varies by publication.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE searches journal articles, government documents, and ebooks relating to human impact on the environment. It covers interdisciplinary topics such as environmental policy, environmental engineering, pollution, conservation, and other areas in which human activities and nature coincide. GreenFILE also contains a cited references feature that allows the user to see what material the author has cited in their publication, and what later publications cite it. Date coverage: varies by publication.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released). Date coverage: varies by publication.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Environment Complete is a comprehensive database focused on all aspects of environmental science including conservation, biodiversity, climate, pollution, agriculture and aquaculture, environmental law and policy, urban planning, environmental engineering, and more. Date coverage: 1940 - present with selected full text from 1975 - present.
- Renewable Energy Journal The Official Journal of WREN - The World Renewable Energy Network.
- Renewable Energy and Environmental Sustainability An Open Access journal publishing innovative papers in Renewable Energy published in partnership with the World Renewable Energy Congress/Network.
