Practice Guidelines in Online Databases
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window Covers journal publications from the nursing and allied health professions. While it primarily covers journal citations, it also includes book chapter abstracts, dissertations, and conference abstracts. Date coverage: 1981 - present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Date Coverage: 1809 (selectively) - present.
Both PubMed and CINAHL have filters that allow you to limit your search to Practice Guidelines.
What are Practice Guidelines?
Practice guidelines & evidence summaries provide health care providers & researchers with a summary of best practices for diagnosing and treating a condition. These are also known as point-of care resources.
Sources of Practice Guidelines
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reference tool containing summaries for nearly 2000 topics of diseases, disorders, and symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window BMJ Best Practice provides access to the latest relevant information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions, with the the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach and covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.
